Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

UAC Course and Discipline-Specific Research Education: WRTG/LING 3510: Fall 2016

This guide hosts videos to address specific research guidance in courses and disciplines, as well as explict assignments, at the Utah Asia Campus.

Video #1: Understanding your assignment with research

This instructional video provides an introduction on how research feeds into the critical thinking required for you to formulate an argument for your research paper.  It concisely connects the basic steps required to move along the research and writing processes simultaneously.  In the video, the assignment is used to identify the steps required for you to successfully complete your assignment. This approach is a strategy that you should use to outline what you must provide as elements in your assignment so that you can map out the necessary steps to reach your final goal, which is to "produce your findings" that are reflected entirely in your final paper.

You will return to this process for each writing and/or research assignment throughout your education.

Video #2: Beginning the discovery process with USearch

This instructional video delves into the discovery process, which is a recursive process between "choosing your topic," "performing background research," "devising your research question" (which includes formulation of a thesis, hypothesis and/or claim) and moving forward into "identifying resources" for your research, which can happen in numerous information environments.  

This video enters into USearch, which is the University of Utah's library catalog.  It searches everything that the libraries physically hold and many of its electronic resources.  **NOTE:  USearch holds cataloged records from articles within periodicals (e.g., journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.) that are sourced from many of the U's research databases, but does NOT pull in articles from  ALL of the U's databases.  Thus, in video #3 below, the introduction to Academic Search Premier, which is one of the largest multi-disciplinary databases, provides basic instruction on a deeply useful resource that is not included in USearch searches. 

Video #3: Investigating research databases for peer-reviewed journal articles

This instructional video introduces you to Academic Search Premier, which is described in the box above.  Since it is inter-disciplinary, this database is very helpful during the discovery step in order to source the conversations that people are having across disciplines. This part of the discovery step enables you to collect themes of concern or importance from scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, as well as those being had in popular press and trade magazines/journals.

You are required to provide a minimum of four peer-reviewed articles (also called scholarly/academic journal articles OR refereed journal articles) and Academic Search Premier enables you to limit specifically to peer-reviewed articles, as many databases do.  Over time, you will learn to identify the traits of peer-reviewed articles when that information is not explicitly outlined, as often the terminology "peer-reviewed" will not present obviously in each research environment.  However, instruction on figuring out whether an article comes from a peer-reviewed source will develop over time with additional instruction.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library