Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

: :Finding books in Portuguese at the Marriott Library: :

:

Portuguese-language resources in the circulating collections

The general circulating collections of the Marriott Library include over 2800 titles in Portuguese:  

  • plays, essays, poems, short stories, novels
  • literary history, biography and criticism
  • history and culture of the Portuguese-speaking world
  • many other subject areas
  • children's books

Once you have done a search in our catalog, one of the facets on the left side of the screen is Language.  If you click on Portuguese, most of your results should be in that language, but titles translated from Portuguese (into English, for example) will also show up.  Please feel free to contact me if you aren't able to find what you're looking for.

Call numbers for literature, history and culture

Browsing the shelves of a library can lead to serendipitous discoveries.  But even with browsing it can help to have an idea of where particular subjects are located.  The following lists will give the browsers among you a place to start.

Books on Portuguese as a language (philology, grammar, syntax, dictionaries) will be found at the north end of Level 2, between the call numbers PC5001 and PC5498, with most Portuguese-English dictionaries at PC5333.

Portuguese literature and the literature of Portuguese-speaking countries outside of Portugal will be found between the call numbers PQ9000 and PQ9999, as follows:

Portugal PQ9000-PQ9411

Galiza PQ9450-PQ9469.3

Brasil PQ9500-PQ9698.436

Angola PQ9920-PQ9929

Moçambique PQ9930-PQ9939

Cabo Verde PQ9942-PQ9942.9 [very little in the collection]

Guiné-Bissau PQ9945-PQ9945.9 [nothing in our collection at present]

São Tomé e Príncipe PQ9948-PQ9948.9 [nothing in our collection at present]

Ásia PQ9950-PQ9959 [very little in the collection]

The corresponding call numbers for the history and culture of these countries are found on the east side of Level 2:

Portugal DP501-DP802

Galiza DP302.G11-DP302.G2

Brasil F2501-F2659

Angola DT1251-DT1465

Moçambique DT3291-DT3415

Cabo Verde DT671.C2-DT671.C29

Guiné-Bissau DT613-DT613.9

São Tomé e Príncipe DT615-DT615.9

Goa DS498-DS498.7

Timor-Leste DS649.2-DS649.9

Macau DS796.M2-DS796.M295

Children's books

To find children's books in Portuguese in our catalog:

  • do a subject search (from the Advanced Search page) for "Portuguese language materials" -- be sure to include the quotation marks
  • narrow your results using the Collection facet, on the left side of the screen when looking at search results in the catalog:  clicking on Juvenile Collection (or Marriott Reserve) will restrict the display to items in that collection
  • you can also consult the spreadsheet below, keeping in mind that results in the catalog will always be more up to date

For assistance

Robert Behra's picture
Robert Behra
Contact:
Faculty Services Specialist
Research and User Services
J. Willard Marriott Library
The University of Utah
295 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860

Office: 2110K

801-581-7694
fax: 801-581-3464
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library