COMM 3580: Health Campaigns
MEDLINE is a medical database that will allow you to find up to date research about nutrition.
To use MEDLINE:
1. Go to the library homepage at lib.utah.edu and click on the Research Databases tab above the search box.
2. Click on the letter M for MEDLINE
3. Scroll down to MEDLINE (EBSCO) and click on the red title link.
4 Click on the MeSH 2014 link in the upper left corner. MeSH stands for Medical Subject Headings, and is the standardized set of descriptors used by the National Library of Medicine.
5. Start with your first term and click the Browse button. Remember, this is the equivalent of searching a thesaurus, so you may need to search multiple words or synonyms to find the exact descriptor you need.
6. Once you click on the checkbox next to a term, it is automatically added to the search terms box on the right side of the page.
7. To search for additional terms, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the Browse Additional Terms link.
8. Then, you can search for additional terms in the Medical Subject Headings that you want to add to your search.
9. When you click next to the term you would like to add to the search, it is automatically added under the Search Database button on the right side of the screen. You can choose whether to search for both terms using AND or either term using OR. Continue repeating steps 7 and 8 until you have added all of the terms you want to search, and then click on the green Search Database tab.
10. The database search engine will retrieve a list of results.Use the limiters on the left side of the screen to narrow down your results. Use the Publication Date slider bar to narrow down to items published in the last ten years. Choose only Academic Journals under Source Type. You can also use the Major Heading facet to narrow down to items that have the terms you check as major subjects in the article. For instance, if I click on the checkbox next to Bulimia Nervosa, all of the articles returned will have Bulimia Nervosa as a major topic in the paper.
11. Click on the title of any of the items to see the abstract. If the item has a Check SFX link at the bottom, click there to try to find the full text of the article.
12.You will be taken to another page listing the title of the article and its source. If it is available online, there will be a link to the database that you can click on to get to the article.
13. If you get to a screen that says No electronic full text available, search for the journal title in the catalog. We may have the journal in print. If we do not, click on the Interlibrary Loan link to request the item from another library.
14. To save articles into EndNote, start on your results page. Click on the blue folder with a plus sign next to each of the articles whose citations you would liketo save.
15. When you have saved all of the articles you want to export, go to the top right corner of the page and click on the Folder icon.
16. Click on the Export button on the right side of the page.
17. Make sure you have your EndNote Basic Account open. Then, click on the radio button next to Direct Export to EndNote Web and click Save.
18. If the import works, you will see a screen in your EndNote web letting you know that records have been imported.
- Last Updated: Jan 31, 2017 11:10 AM
- URL: http://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/comm3580
- Print Page