Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

1L Resources: Services for Law Students

This guide provides information on resources, particularly study aids, that are available in the library for law students.

Reference Librarians

Resource Key

 - University of Utah students, faculty and staff only. Off-campus access may be available for students, faculty and staff. Resource available to public patrons at University of Utah libraries.
 - S.J. Quinney College of law students, faculty & staff only. 
 - Resource requires password (please ask a reference librarian to log you in).
Links without one of these keys are free and available to everyone.

Reference

Do you have a research question? Stop by the reference desk! A librarian is available from 9am-5pm Monday through Friday.  

Reference service is available to assist with questions about the collection, to help find specific legal materials, or to set up a research strategy. The reference librarians cannot give legal advice or interpretations of the law; please consult an attorney who is engaged in the practice of law for such help. Much legal research can be done by using computer services. Reference librarians are available to give help and instruction in their use, and in some cases to perform computer searches. Help is also available for areas requiring extra research skill such as legislative histories, administrative law, and international law.  The reference desk is located on Level 1 of the law school. To contact the reference desk, stop by, call 801-581-6184, email reference@law.utah.edu, or use the Chat feature on the library homepage.

Library Catalog

If you need a book or article for research, check the library catalog. The catalog will search all campus libraries - including all print items and some databases. The catalog is available from the library homepage. If you are having trouble locating an item for a project, stop by the reference desk for assistance. 

Check out a library map if you've found an item in the catalog, but don't know where it is in the law school. If the item is at another campus library you may request that the item be sent to the Faust Law Library. Once it arrives it will be available on the hold shelf behind the Level 1 desk.  For questions see someone at the desk on Level 1. 

Exam Reserve

Remember to check our electronic exam reserve for copies of old exams from your professor. You will need to login to access the exams. Questions? See the reference librarian on Level 1. 

Course Reserve

Materials placed on course reserve by professors for the current semester are available for two hour checkout at the service desk on Level 1. 

Databases Available in the Library

The library has a number of databases available for instances when you need to go beyond Westlaw or Lexis to complete a research project. Check out our A-Z Database List.  Our databases provide access to newspapers, legislative history materials, regulatory materials, dockets and much more.  You may also consult the list of databases and journals available through the Marriott Library.  For help finding databases to match your research need see a reference librarian. 

If you are using one of the databases off campus, you will likely need to login. You can do so through the library homepage by clicking on Off-Campus VPN Access or Off-Campus Proxy Login. 

Interlibrary loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service of the library that can be used when you need a copy of a journal article, newspaper article, conference proceedings, or when you want to borrow a book, microform, or video that is not available from one of the University of Utah libraries (check the library catalog first). The Interlibrary Loan staff will do its best to get a copy or borrow an item for you from another library outside the campus. For more information see our ILL page.

 

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library