Data Storage for Research Activities: STORAGE OPTIONS WHILE CONDUCTING THE RESEARCH

STORAGE OPTIONS WHILE CONDUCTING THE RESEARCH

1. Electronic Notebooks

LabArchives
LabArchives is FREE to use by anyone on campus. If you are collaborating with researchers off campus, then they can be included in any PI’s account as a user instead of a guest. LabArchives is cloud-based, approved by the University’s ISO for non-restricted data, is available 24/7 from anywhere, is compatible with the current versions of Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer, and Safari running on Windows (XP and higher), and all Apple Operating Systems that are compatible with current browsers, free apps are available for both Android and iOS devices and a free plugin for MS Office is available. Widgets are provided and you can create your own to improve your workflow. Storage space is unlimited, but the maximum file size is 4GB. Content is fully backed up.

To protect data integrity, a complete version of every entry is stored indefinitely – and can be recalled when needed. Each version of every entry also has a data and time stamp recorded along with the identity of the user and the IP address of the computer in use. Nothing can be deleted from LabArchives so data will not leave the University. When writing a data management plan for a grant proposal be sure to include information about LabArchives. Text has been provided for you to adapt to your research.

For additional information about LabArchives and a listing of upcoming workshops see the LabArchives subject guide or email Daureen.nesdill@utah.edu to set up a workshop for your group.

REDCap
Research Electronic Data Capture (REDCap) is a browser based tool that allows investigators and/or their staff to create web based case report forms (CRFs) and surveys to collect data from a variety of clinical research study types. REDCap use has been expanded for other uses such as mouse colony management. REDCap is on HIPAA and FERPA compliant servers at the Center for High Performance Computing (CHPC) and therefore appropriate for restricted data. Storage space is unlimited. Content is fully backed up.

 

Check out the REDCap Training Videos. The Biomedical Informatics Core (BMIC) provides training and consultations for REDCap. Contact them at 801-587-8001. The Training Manager is Mei Xue and her phone number is 801-581-6442.

The REDCap Support Team will be in the Eccles Library to answer any of your REDcap questions/problems. Eccles Health Science Library, Garden Level, Synapse Bays 3-5. Wednesday's, 2pm to 3pm. No appointment necessary.

REDCap has been free, but at this point is under consideration to become fee based.

 

2. CHPC - Research Computing Support for the University - NOT ONLY FOR BIG DATA

CHPC offers four different types of storage: home directories, group space, scratch file systems and archive store space. Of these four options, the group and archive options can be readily used for data storage for groups even if they are not using CHPC compute resources to generate and/or process the data.

CHPC Group Space:

CHPC currently allows CHPC PIs with sponsored research projects to buy-in to file storage at a price determined by the cost of the storage. The current pricing is $150/TB for the lifetime of the hardware that is purchased with a 5 year warranty. Archive backups of group level storage to tape quarterly is available by request for the cost of the backup tapes. A more detailed description of this storage offering is available at White Paper 

CHPC Archive Storage:

CHPC has an archive storage solution based around object storage (manages data as objects instead of file systems and allows for greater storage capability). Users manage the the archive directly - no backup tapes. The cost is $80/TB raw space.

For additional information about all storage systems see Storage.

Protected Spaces, i.e. for Restricted Data

CHPC has home directories, group space, scratch file systems and archive store space in a protected environment, meaning it is HIPAA and FERPA compliant. REDCap is on these servers. For additional information see Protected Environments.

For information about backup of the different storage systems offered by CHPC see File Storage Policies

ALSO -

For information about secure transfer of data systems offered by CHPC see Documentation

For information about virtual machines at CHPC for general and protected data see Virtual Machines

3. UIT

Ubox
Ubox is a FREE online cloud storage and collaboration tool that provides University faculty, staff and students with the ability to easily store, access and share files and folders anywhere on any device. Ubox is appropriate for Restricted data. Storage limit is 1TB per person. A research project can also be allocated 1TB of storage. With Ubox you can invite both internal and external users to Ubox folders as collaborators and assign permission levels ranging from viewer to editor to co-owner. For the file types and fonts suitable for Ubox see Box Community.

You will be required to sign on with your UNID and go through the 2FA. User Guides and Training are provided on the website

UU Office 365 (O365)
UU Office 365 is FREE to UU employees and students. Microsoft applications included are Word, Excel, Powerpoint, OneNote, Sway, Sites, Delve Video, Newsfeed and OneDrive. Outlook, Calendar and Skype for Business are NOT available in Office 365. Office 365 is appropriate for Restricted data EXCEPT for OneDrive. Storage space is limited to 1TB  and file size limit is 2GB. Content is backed up. You will be able to access files from any device.

You will be required to sign on with your UNID and go through the 2FA. User Guides and Training are provided on the website.

UCloud

UCloud was introduced to the campus in March 2018, but not specifically for research. UCloud is a hybid cloud service meaning part private and part public. The private means it is ok for restricted data. In addition Ucloud is for storage and also has VMware. With VM you can add whatever software is needed in a secure environment. Unlike UBox, UCloud is not free.

For additional information see the Ubox, UU Office 365 or UCloud website or contact Campus Help Desk 801-581-4000 or the Hospital Help Desk

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library