Chemistry: Library Resources

Additional Library Resources

The best way to locate databases for finding chemisty information is to go to the library home page, select Research Databases, and then pick Chemistry under "Select Databases by Subject". Below are a few hints, but when in doubt, please contact your librarian! 

If you are looking for chemical and physical properties try: 

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Since the first volume in 1913, the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics has been revised annually except for a few wartime years and has grown steadily, in both size and diversity of information, to become the most widely used source of data for chemists, physicists, and professionals in related fields of science. The latest print edition is shelved in the Knowledge Commons Reference area on level 2 of the Library. 

The Merck Index
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph is a description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Monographs in the Merck Index typically contain CAS registry numbers, chemical formulas, molecular weights, compositions, structural formulas, descriptions of a substance's appearance, melting points and boiling points, citations to other literature regarding the compound's chemical synthesis, therapeutic categories (if applicable), and hazard information.

DiscoveryGate
DiscoveryGate is designed to be a powerful, easy-to-use application for accessing a wealth of scientific information through the Web. The DiscoveryGate speeds chemical sourcing and reduces costs by providing the fastest, most comprehensive tool available for assessing compound availability and comparing compound prices across more than 900 suppliers from both in the world’s most popular sourcing directory, the BIOVIA Available Chemicals Directory (ACD) and the BIOVIA Screening Compounds Directory (SCD).

Database of book collections:

ChemNetBase
Comprised of Chapman & Hall/CRC's chemistry references - a comprehensive chemistry resource that includes dictionaries and physical property information.

If you need a chemistry dictionary then try:

ChemNetBase
Included in ChemNetBase are at least eight dictionaries, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Carbohydrates.

About me -

Shane Wallace's picture
Shane Wallace
Contact:
J.W. Marriott Library
1726D
Fall Office Hours:
Tue and Wed 12-1p
Phone:
801-585-1990
Website
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library