This is the "Home" page of the "River Running" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
link to University of Utah Home link to Marriott Library Home
Off Campus Access - Log In
A guide to river-running videos and resources (1914-present) in the Audio Visual Archive in Special Collections.
Last Updated: May 21, 2013 URL: http://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/riverrunning Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Glen Canyon in Special Collections

For a primary source bibliography on Glen Canyon, including videos, photographs, and personal papers of river-runners, check out this guide!

Glen Canyon
by Roy Webb - Last Updated May 4, 2011
Glen Canyon resources in Special Collections
51 views this year

Audio Visual Archive

Check out more audio visual collections by visiting this guide!

Audio-Visual Archive
by Jessica Breiman, Molly Rose Steed - Last Updated Mar 19, 2014
Specializing in unique moving image and sound collections from Utah and the West
416 views this year
 

Audiovisual Materials in the Utah River Running Archives

The Utah River Running Archives consists of photographs, films, publications, personal documents, and oral histories relating to river running on the Colorado River system. This guide documents audiovisual materials, i.e. films and oral histories, in the Utah River Running Archives.

These items are available by request at Special Collections on Level 4 of Marriott Library. For more information, please visit us M-F 8-6pm and Saturday 9:15-6pm. We are also happy to help over the phone at (801)585-3073 or via email.

 

River Running Collections

The hyperlinked items have fuller descriptions available via Utah Digital Archives.

A0183 Thorn Mayes (river runner, photographer)

Color films of San Juan and lower Glen Canyon 1930s

A0239 Mike Walton (river runner)

VHS videotape of various river trips, including Bert Loper 1947, TV programs about river running 1978 and Holiday River Expeditions 1980

A0245 Norman D. Nevills (river runner)

Color films of San Juan and lower Glen Canyon 1930s-1940s

A0501 Glen Canyon Institute

8mm color films of Glen Canyon 1990s

A0511 Charles Eggert (photographer and filmmaker)

Several color films of Green and Colorado Rivers from Wyoming to Lake Mead, including "Wilderness River Trail," which was made during the controversy over Echo Park Dam.

A0512 Arth Chaffin (ferryman and river runner)

Color film of Glen Canyon 1930s-1960s

A0513 S.J. Quinney (river runner)

16mm color film of a 1958 Grand Canyon river trip

A0525 Nancy Streator-Reuling (river runner)

VHS videotape of copies of films made during trips down the Green and Colorado Rivers with Norman Nevills 1947-1949

A0528 Southern Utah Wilderness Alliance (SUWA)

16mm film of a trip through Glen Canyon and down the Colorado River 1960s

A0529 Hatch River Expeditions

VHS video copies of early river trips taken by Hatch River Expeditions 1940s-1970s

A0532 Brandy Blank

Color video of Glen Canyon before 1949

A0534 French Kayakers

Edited footage of a kayak trip down the Green and Colorado Rivers undertaken by French kayakers Antoine DeSeynes, Bernard DeColmont and Genevieve DeColmont in 1938. The collection also contains audio recordings of an interview with Patrice DeColmont in 2011.

A0546 Harry Aleson (river runner)

VHS videotapes of films taken by Aleson in Glen Canyon, Grand Canyon, and other points along Colorado River 1930s-1940s

A0549 Colorado River History

VHS videotape: "Colorado River Expedition," 'Shooting Grand Canyon Rapids" (1940s-1950s) and an interview with Don and Ted Hatch (1991)

A0562 Aaron Ross (river runner)

16mm films of trips on the Colorado River and its tributaries 1950s-1960s

A0587 Ken Smith (river runner)

Betacam copy of a film of a 1953 Glen Canyon river trip

A0606 Gus Scott (river runner)

Color film of San Juan and lower Glen Canyon 1950

A0626 Tom Chandler

Home movies of Utah including Arches National Monument, Glen Canyon, Flaming Gorge and other Colorado Plateau locations 1950s-1960s

A0641 Joseph Desloge (river runner)

16mm and 8mm color films of river trips on the Colorado, Green, San Juan and other rivers.

A0692 Frederick Hoffman Wood (photographer)

Color 8mm films of E-H expedition

A0722 River Runners Oral History Project

Video oral history interviews with various river runners

A0738 Wayne McConkie (river runner, geologist)

Color 16mm films of the Colorado Plateau

A0739 Reynold Brown (river runner)

Film of a 1958 Glen Canyon trip with SOCOTWA (South Cottonwood Ward)

A0740 SOCOTWA (river running group)

Films from the LDS river running group SOCOTWA (South Cottonwood Ward) 1940s-1960s, oral history interviews from 2003

A0746 Remo Lavagnino (river runner, photographer)

Color films of river running in the Colorado Plateau area

A0938 O.L. "Brig" Tapp (filmmaker)

Amateur narrative films in outdoors settings in Utah and throughout the Intermountain West 1950s-1960s.  There are several films based on river trips, including "Glen Canyon" (1956).

A1022 Malcom "Moki Mac" Ellingson (river runner)

8mm and 16mm films of river trips on the Yampa, Green and Colorado Rivers, frequently in the Glen Canyon area 1956-1963.  This collection also includes 16mm dubs of a 35mm nitrate print of a 1914 or 1915 trip down the Colorado River.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jessica Breiman
Contact Info
Audio Visual Assistant
Multimedia Archives, Special Collections
J. Willard Marriott Library
801.585.3073
Send Email

Moving Image & Sound Archivist

Profile Image
Molly Rose Steed, M.A.
Contact Info
Marriott Library - Level 4
Special Collections
Multimedia Archives
801-585-3073
Send Email

Related Resources

Geography
by Anne Morrow - Last Updated Sep 3, 2013
12 views this year
Geology & Geophysics
by April Love - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
63 views this year
Geospatial Information Portal
by Anne Morrow - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Geospatial Information Committee sponsored projects, products and related resources
419 views this year
Map Collections in the Marriott Library
by Ken Rockwell - Last Updated Oct 21, 2013
46 views this year
Parks Recreation & Tourism
by Alfred Mowdood - Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
269 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip