This is the "Home" page of the "Annotated Bibliography Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
link to University of Utah Home link to Marriott Library Home
Off Campus Access - Log In

Annotated Bibliography Guide  

An annotated bibliography is a descriptive and evaluative list of citations for books, articles, or other documents.
Last Updated: May 14, 2010 URL: http://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/content.php?pid=94985 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Manuals

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010

MLA handbook for writers of research papers.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009

A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers - Turabian, Kate L
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2007

The Chicago manual of style.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2003

Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers / Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors.
Call Number: T11 .S386 2006

 

Annotated Bibliography

Definition

An annotated bibliography is a descriptive and evaluative list of citations for books, articles, or other documents. Each citation is followed by a brief paragraph - the annotation - alerting the reader to the accuracy, quality, and relevance of that source.

Composing an annotated bibliography helps a writer to gather one's thoughts on how to use the information contained in cited sources, and helps the reader to decide whether to pursue the full context of the information you provide. It also helps researchers understand the disciplinary terrain; what has been explored by researchers before, and what might be explored in the future.

 

Format of the Bibliography

All of the citations in an annotated bibliography should be formatted according to one chosen style such as MLA, APA, CSE or Chicago. See the side box for manuals in the library.

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip