Annotated Bibliography Guide: APA Style
An annotated bibliography is a descriptive and evaluative list of citations for books, articles, or other documents.
Available in the Open Reserves on the 3rd floor and also in the General Collection on Level 2
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2020The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.
APA Style Resources
From Purdue Online Writing Lab:
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.
In APA, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called References.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2020
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 1433805618Publication Date: 2010Find a hard copy of the APA Publication Manual 6th Edition in the library! Not only does this include how to cite sources, but it is also a guide for writing in the APA style. Note that there are several copies across campus.
- APA Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
- APA Guidelines from The Little Seagull HandbookAmerican Psychological Association (APA) style calls for (1) brief documentation in parentheses near each in-text citation and (2) complete documentation in a list of references at the end of your text.
- APA Reference Styleby Prof. Mike Strahan from Northern Michigan University
- APA Style WebsiteResources created by APA for using the APA style. Includes the APA Style Blog with interesting posts such as how to cite Instagram.
