Civil & Environmental Engineering

Exceptionally well-received and one of the most acclaimed university-level books on construction, Building Construction, Principles, Materials and Systems is a comprehensive and fully illustrated introduction to construction methods and materials. It's informed by a core philosophy that sufficient grounding in the principles and science of construction is the best way to equip today's designers and constructors to respond successfully to rapid changes in the built environment. The Third Edition incorporates the latest updates available, features over one thousand new end-of-chapter problems, and now addresses common errors related to the topic. The organization of the text fosters a definitive understanding of general concepts before moving on to more complex concepts. Emphasizing a visual approach to learning, it includes original illustrations.

This book provides an updated state-of-the-art review on new developments in alkali-activation. The main binder of concrete, Portland cement, represents almost 80% of the total CO2 emissions of concrete which are about 6 to 7% of the Planet's total CO2 emissions. This is particularly serious in the current context of climate change and it could get even worse because the demand for Portland cement is expected to increase by almost 200% by 2050 from 2010 levels, reaching 6000 million tons/year. Alkali-activated binders represent an alternative to Portland cement having higher durability and a lower CO2 footprint.

This volume includes over 30 chapters, written by experts from around the world. It examines the environmental aspects of drought such as groundwater and soil contamination, river low-flow, urban water quality, and desertification. It also examines the effects of climate change and variability on drought, and discusses the differences in groundwater, rainfall, and temperatures and their related effects. It presents analytical modeling for better understanding drought in uncertain and changing climates.

The Handbook will cover all aspects of environmental analysis and will examine the emergence of many new classes of pollutants in recent years. It will provide information on an array of topics from instrumentation, analytical techniques, and sample preparations to statistical calculations, chemical structures, and equations. It will present the tools and techniques required to measure a wide range of toxic pollutants in our environment. It will be fully revised throughout, and will add four new chapters (Microbial Analysis, Chlorophyll, Chlorine, Chloramines and Chlorine Dioxide, and Derivatization Reactions in Environmental Analysis).

This new edition adds several new chapters and is thoroughly updated to include data on new topics such as hydraulic fracturing, CO2sequestration, sustainable groundwater management, and more. Providing a complete treatment of the theory and practice of groundwater engineering, this new handbook also presents a current and detailed review of how to model the flow of water and the transport of contaminants both in the unsaturated and saturated zones, covers the protection of groundwater, and the remediation of contaminated groundwater.

This widely respected and frequently consulted reference work provides a wealth of information and guidance on industrial chemistry and biotechnology. Industries covered span the spectrum from salt and soda ash to advanced dyes chemistry, the nuclear industry, the rapidly evolving biotechnology industry, and, most recently, electrochemical energy storage devices and fuel cell science and technology. Other topics of surpassing interest to the world at large are covered in chapters on fertilizers and food production, pesticide manufacture and use, and the principles of sustainable chemical practice, referred to as green chemistry. Finally, considerable space and attention in the Handbook are devoted to the subjects of safety and emergency preparedness. It is worth noting that virtually all of the chapters are written by individuals who are embedded in the industries whereof they write so knowledgeably.

Management of Marine Plastic Debris gives a thorough and detailed presentation of the global problem of marine plastics debris, covering every aspect of its management from tracking, collecting, treating and commercial exploitation for handing this anthropogenic waste. The book is a unique, essential source of information on current and future technologies aimed at reducing the impact of plastics waste in the oceans. This is a practical book designed to enable engineers to tackle this problem--both in stopping plastics from getting into the ocean in the first place, as well as providing viable options for the reuse and recycling of plastics debris once it has been recovered. The book is essential reading not only for materials scientists and engineers, but also other scientists involved in this area seeking to know more about the impact of marine plastics debris on the environment, the mechanisms by which plastics degrade in water and potential solutions. While much research has been undertaken into the different approaches to the increasing problem of plastics marine debris, this is the first book to present, evaluate and compare all of the available techniques and practices, and then make suggestions for future developments. The book also includes a detailed discussion of the regulatory environment, including international conventions and standards and national policies.

This volume focuses on modelling the fate of chemicals in the environment and the human body to arrive at an integrated exposure assessment. It covers five broad topics, namely: future challenges in exposure assessment; the evolution of human health and environmental risk assessment; standard documentation for exposure models; modelling different environmental components (i.e. surface waters, atmosphere, soil, groundwater, plants, aquatic organisms and mammals); and the fate of contaminants in humans. This work draws on the authors' and editors' extensive experience and a range of different research activities, including case studies, that have led to the development of MERLIN-Expo, a standardised software package for simulating the fate of chemicals in the main environmental systems and in the human body in an integrated manner. It will be of considerable interest to researchers and students, risk managers, and policy- and decision-makers whose work involves environmental protection and human health.

SPON'S CIVIL ENGINEERING AND HIGHWAY WORKS PRICE BOOK 2019 from AECOM gives costs for both general and civil engineering works and highway works. It provides a full breakdown of labour, plant and material elements, with labour rates updated. cost guidance is given at a number of levels, varying from the more general functional costs to detailed resource costing, and in conformity with CESMM4 and the Highways Method of Measurement.