This is the "Home" page of the "Digital Public Library of America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
link to University of Utah Home link to Marriott Library Home
Off Campus Access - Log In

Digital Public Library of America   Tags: audio, citation, digital library, film, film archive, images, library, moving images, sound, special collections  

A guide to conducting research and using the resources of the Digital Public Library of America
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2014 URL: http://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/dpla Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search DPLA!

Hint: Put in a keyword to get started. Then limit your results by format, owning institution, date, etc. by clicking the tabs on the left.
 

Recent News

 

What is DPLA?

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a platform for sharing unique resources amongst the nation's libraries. Most of these resources come from the Special Collections of the contributing institutions, meaning they are unpublished, one-of-a-kind, primary source materials (wondering what primary source is?).

You are welcome to use any and all of these resources, but DO pay attention to the RIGHTS information listed underneath each resource. The rights information will tell you WHAT you can do with the resource.

 

How to Search DPLA

 

Hack DPLA!

DPLA welcomes software developers, creative thinkers, and others to create apps to share data available in DPLA. There are some cool apps in their App Library!

Some of the coolest apps make DPLA resources into games with data, relate the resources to articles you are reading in Wikipedia, and help you view results as just a scrolling screen of images.

Related Guides

Copyright for the Fine & Performing Arts
by Greg Hatch, Allyson Mower - Last Updated Nov 18, 2014
This guide gives faculty and students--as practitioners of the arts--a working knowledge of their rights and responsibilities when it comes to copyright, and the fair use of copyrighted materials and others' works of art.
430 views this year
Images and Media for Research and Presentations
by Jessica Breiman, Erika Church - Last Updated Aug 20, 2014
This guide will help you find images and multimedia that will enhance research papers and presentations. Images aren't just for art students!
2,815 views this year
Introduction to the Digital Library
by Anne Morrow - Last Updated Jul 23, 2014
A wide range of digital collections are housed in the Digital Library. This guide introduces viewers to some of Marriott's digital collections and connects them to regional digital archives.
36 views this year
Mountain West Digital Library
by Nick Hayen, Sandra McIntyre, Evan Young - Last Updated Mar 24, 2014
This is a guide for users of the Mountain West Digital Library. Here you can find links to other helpful websites as well as guidelines for conducting research.
293 views this year
Research Posters: Creating Posters Using MS Powerpoint
by Daureen Nesdill - Last Updated Aug 1, 2014
This guide has been developed to assist you with creating a research poster using MS Powerpoint.
3,461 views this year
Western Waters Digital Library
by Anna Neatrour - Last Updated Jan 16, 2013
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States.
98 views this year

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jessica Breiman
Contact Info
Assistant Moving Image and Sound Archivist
Multimedia Archives, Special Collections
J. Willard Marriott Library
801.585.3073
Send Email
 

Confused? Ask a Librarian!

Ask the Library

  • phone icon 801-581-6273
  • chat icon Live Chat -    
  • email icon Email
  • eye iconIn-Person
  • research guides icon Research Consultation

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip