Kinesiology/ Exercise & Sport Science: Find Articles

This research guide is for students, faculty, and researchers in Exercise and Sport Science (ESS) or Kinesiology.

Other Useful Guides

Find Articles & Scholarly Resources (Research Databases)

Use these resources to identify journal articles and other scholarly sources.

You will get a citation (author, title, source, date) and often an abstract--a short summary. Most of these databases either provide or link to the full text. Excellent starting points are:

  • Scopus Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.
    PubMed   Over 27 million citations covering medicine, nursing, allied health, exercise science, sports medicine, physical therapy, physiology, and kinesiology.
    SPORTDiscus with Full Text Covers all aspects of sports, exercise, and fitness. Includes the full-text of 530 journals including most of the journals published by Human Kinetics.
    Web of Science The Web of Science Core Collection provides researchers access to the world's most authoritative multidisciplinary content, and its indexes cover more than 12,000 of the world's highest impact journals and 150,000 conference proceedings..
    Embase Embase contains over 28 million records from over 8,400 currently published journals, as well as a number of conference abstracts and in-press publications. Coverage ranges from 1947 to the present, covering subjects such as biomedicine and pharmacology
    Academic Search Premier Full-text of 4600 scholarly journals.
    Cochrane Library Evidence-based medicine (EBM) resources including a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses
    Google Scholar   Another way to search for scholarly literature.
    Online Journals Journals subscribed by the libraries at the University of Utah
    Resources available by uNID on campus. Available off campus to current University of Utah students, staff, and faculty.
  • Search either the University Libraries Catalog  or the Online Journals by journal title to see which library carries the journal. If not available, you may request a copy through Interlibrary Loans ().
  • Access varies depending on your location and status.
  • Personalized help is available at the Library Service Desks or the Eccles Health Sciences Library

Anatomy. TV 

Biosis Previews (1969-current)
This database contains references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.

Business Source Premier EBSCOhost (1922-current)
Provides coverage of sport management, marketing, and economics of sport.

CINAHL EBSCOhost  (1981-current)
Also known as the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health

ClinicalKey 
This database provides full-text access to over 500 journals, 1000 books, and 9,000 medical/procedural videos from Elsevier.

Dissertations & Theses: Global 
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Global  provides full text access to virtually all North American Universities Dissertations published from 1997 and forward, and citations only to dissertations before that date.

Dynamed (1995-current)
Provides evidence-based clinical summaries of over 3000 clinical topics.

ERIC EBSCOhost (1966-current)
Education-related resources including journal articles, books, and ERIC documents.

EMBASE  (1947-current)
Embase contains over 28 million records from over 8,400 currently published journals from 1947 to the present, covering subjects such as biomedicine and pharmacology.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1960-current)
Limiting a search by "Primary Source" is the most efficient way to search for the the instrument itself. The "Secondary Source" limit indicates that the instrument was not developed by the author(s) of the cited article.

OregonPDF
Provides the full-text of dissertations and theses related to health and performance that were originally available in microfilm format  at the Marriott Library.

Physical Education Index

PsycINFO EBSCOhost (1887-current)
Covers psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, physiology, psychiatry, nursing, and pharmacology. 

SBRNet
Provides sports market research and industry news covering sporting goods, participation, and sponsorship.

Sociological Abstracts ProQuest (1952-current) 

Synthesis
Includes Colloquium which is an innovative, interdisciplinary teaching and learning product covering new and emerging fields in the life sciences.  Currently, there are five series covering: Biotechnology, Cell Biology of Medicine, the Developing Brain, Developmental Biology, and Integrated Systems Physiology. Each series is made up of lectures; each lecture is a 50 to 100 page peer-reviewed PDF written by an expert in the field. Each lecture includes pictures, tables, and linked references to other peer reviewed articles and books.

 

Finding ESS Articles

Use these resources to identify journal articles and other scholarly sources.

You will get a citation (author, title, source, date) and often an abstract--a short summary. Most of these databases either provide or link to the full text. Excellent starting points are:

Librarian Contact Info

Alfred Mowdood's picture
Alfred Mowdood

Ask the Library

  • 801-581-6273
  • Email
  • In-Person
  • Live Chat -
Contact:
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
(801) 585-7125

Pronouns: he, him, his
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library