Families and Health Block U
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries from various journals and books which cover psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, including sociology, education, business, economics, and law. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 30 languages. The collection includes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, citations for dissertations, and some full-text articles. You can also use the strategies outlined below to search Education Full Text + ERIC, another great database.
To get to PsycINFO:
1. Go to the library homepage at lib.utah.edu and click on the Research Databases tab above the search box.
2. Choose P and then navigate down to PsycINFO. Click on the title link to enter the database.
3. Once you are on the search page, you have a couple of options. To do a keyword search, you can enter terms into the search box. Joining words with AND means that the database will return only items that have both terms in them. Using OR means that the database will return items that have either keyword in them. You can use an asterisk to truncate a phrase. For instance child* returns both child and children in the database, and educat* returns educate, educating, and education. You can also use parenthesis to add multiple OR statements together. Once you have your search string (all of the words in the search box) ready, you can run the searcm.
4. Another strategy for searching is to do a search using descriptors from the thesaurus. Once you are on the search page, click on the Thesaurus button on the upper left part of the screen. Using the thesaurus helps you find the words that the database is using to describe your topic. Using the correct words can help you find better search results.
5. Once you click on the thesaurus, enter the word closest to what you want to find in the search box and click the browse button. A set of similar terms, called subject descriptors, will pop up. Click on the one that seems closest to your interest. For instance, I am going to click on education to see what subterms are related to education
6. Click the box next to the subject terms that seem most relevant for your search. You can choose several at once. Change to dropdown box that says "Select term, then add to search using" from OR to AND and click on the Add button. This will add the subject term to your search.
7. Then, the descriptors you chose should show up in the search box. Continue browsing the thesaurus for search terms and adding them to the search box until you have all the subject terms you want and then click on the search box to run the search
8. The database will return a list of search results. Use the options in the Refine Results box on the left side of the screen to narrow your results. Click the check box next to Peer Reviewed to narrow down to peer reviewed articles, and use the Publication Date slider to narrow down to items published in the next ten years.
9. Click on the title of each article to see its abstract and additional information. If you see a PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text button on the screen, click there to get the full text of the article.
10. If you do not see PDF or HTML Full Text button, you should see a Get It button. Click there instead.
11. Once you click on the Get It button, a new box will open with information about which databases have the article in full text. If there is a link below the article information that says "Full Text Available via. . . " then click there. You will be taken to another screen with access to the full text.
12. If you see "No electronic full text available" under the article information, the navigate down and click on the Interlibrary Loan link. FIll out the information for an article request, and we will try to find another library that has the article. You will recieve an email when it is available.
- Last Updated: Aug 20, 2019 10:58 AM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/familiesandhealth
- Print Page