Process for finding journal articles
- Select database
- Enter your keywords
- Use the Booolean operators - AND, OR or NOT to limit or expand retrieval
- Limit words to a specific field (e.g. the word is in the title)
- Browse the retrieved citations
- Review the controlled vocabulary to become familiar with other terms that could be used to find journal articles
- Try different search strategies
- Mark retrieval
- Print, save, email or export retrieval
Getting full-text articles
In general, the online database links to the full-text journal article if it is available. There may be a link or an icon that indicates the full-text is available.
You can search the Library Catalog directly, or search through our list of eJournals.
If you are not able to determine if the library owns a journal, use the CitationLinker which is used to locate fulltext for a specific article using its PMID, author or citation information.
If you are unable to find articles online the Library can order them via InterLibrary Loan for you. This services is free to students, and available for a nominal fee for faculty, staff and the general public.
Try these article databases
The University of Utah Libraries subscribe to over 500 bibliographic and full-text databases. While there are many choices for searching the journal literature, we have listed a few top databases for nutrition research here.
- PubMedMEDLINE - a primary source for journal citations in the health sciences
- Biological Sciencescovers literature on biology and applied life sciences from thousands of journals. From CSA
- CINAHLwith EBSCOhost; a source for nursing and allied health literature
- Cochrane Librarya database of evidence-based systematic reviews
- DynaMeda clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-car; provides the evidence for clinical decision making.
- MedscapeMedscape from WebMD offers the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile.
- Natural Standardfounded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.
- Scopusthe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It is designed to find the information scientists need. Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. Updated daily.


Loading...
