Degree programs and campus organizations
Citizen ActivismInternational InformationUtah & the West
Encyclopedias, Reference and Background Information
Government Policy & Technology
Environmental Humanities Journals
Salt Lake City Planning
Utah Environmental NewsHistorical ArchivesOpen Access Journals
This is the "Home" page of the "Environmental & Sustainability Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Libraries University of Utah Logo Marriott Library Guides University of Utah Off Campus Access

J. Willard Marriott Library S.J. Quinney Law Library Eccles Health Sciences Library

Environmental & Sustainability Studies   Tags: environment, environmental humanities, environmental science, environmental studies, sustainability  

An interdisciplinary research guide
Last Updated: Jun 12, 2013 URL: http://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/sustainability Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Core Titles on Sustainability

A core list of sustainability titles selected by the J. Willard Marriott Library Sustainability Working Group. This is an excellant place to begin learning about key issues related to sustainability.

Enviornmental Journals

These lists can help you find titles of environmental magazines and journals.

Research strategy

Environmental Studies is an interdisciplinary field that focuses on human interaction with the environment.  You can approach issues of sustainability from many different perspectives:

  • Natural and physical sciences provide an  understanding of environmental systems.
  • Social sciences provide information about environmental decision making and public policies.
  • Humanities provide aesthetic, ethical, and historical approaches to human-environment relations.
  • Urban Planning & Civil Engineering create sustainable human infrastructure.

Some useful Marriott Libray databases to help get you started are:

  • Environmental Studies Databases at the Marriott Library  Icon
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon  Icon
    A good selection of magazines that offer environmental reporting
  • CAB eBooks  Icon
    CABI is a not-for-profit international organization that improves people’s lives by providing information and applying scientific expertise to solve problems in agriculture and the environment
  • CQ Researcher  Icon  Icon
    Use the CQ Researcher database to find background information about U.S. Federal laws and policy.
  • Credo Reference  Icon
    A database of encyclopedia articles on nearly any topic.
  • GreenFile  Icon  Icon
    This database focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
  • Left Index  Icon
    A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    A good source for local news, environmental law, and blog posts.
  • Yahoo Directory: Environment & Nature Organizations
  • Alternative Press Index
    A list of web links and useful resources from the Alternative Press Index

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Amy Brunvand, MLS
Contact Info
U of U Marriott Library
Digital Scholarship Lab
Office: 1705Q
801-581-7477
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip