It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
HathiTrust is a collection of digital content from academic and research libraries—including the University of Utah. HathiTrust contains over 8,400,000 books and 6 billion pages in over 400 languages going back more than 1500 years. With in-person access to the University of Utah libraries and collections either limited or not available, temporary full-text access to in-copyright works is available by checking out items in HathiTrust or our library catalog. One may read the full-text online or download a page at a time. Please click on “Return early” when finished with an item. Nearly 50% of the University of Utah's print monograph collection is available in HathiTrust.
Normally, content in HathiTrust is either in the public domain and open to all researchers or available on a limited basis due to copyright. While content may be limited, one may search the full-text of an item under copyright.
HathiTrust provides “computational access to the entire corpus” as well as “accessible text requests.” Our membership provides additional features in HathiTrust.
HathiTrust is large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries which includes content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. There are more than 60 partners in HathiTrust (including the University of Utah), and membership is open to institutions worldwide. Hathitrust contains over 5,300,000 books and over 10,000,000 documents. HathiTrust works in the public domain are open to all researchers, while other HathiTrust content is available to partner institutions on a limited basis. Some items in HathiTrust are search-only, meaning that while copyright prevents them from being displayed in full they can still be searched for normally. Content in HathiTrust is discoverable by search from within the HathiTrust website and through traditional search engines. As it becomes possible to expand access to HathiTrust's materials through new permissions or agreements, other materials will be made available.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.