HIST 3100 Historian's Craft: Secondary Source Databases
Today's Activity Links
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is a strong bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUsing this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and sel…
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Topics include world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and others. The collection indexes more than 3,100 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Coverage dates vary by title.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
- Library Catalog - Usearch This link opens in a new windowFind items available from campus libraries.
General Databases
The tutorials below describe how to use the Historical Abstracts, JSTOR, and America: History and Life databases. These databases are best for finding secondary resources on a variety of historical topics.
Librarian
