Skip to main content
alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

Moderate Risk
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

Law Library Services - Fall 2020: Services for Law Students

Guide to how to navigate the Faust Law Library in Fall 2020

Reference Assistance

Reference assistance is available Monday through Friday, 9am to 5pm.  You can call the reference phone at (801) 581-6184 but please do not leave a message.  If you do not reach a librarian, try calling back another time.  You can also email the Reference Desk at reference@law.utah.edu or set-up a reference consultation with a librarian.

Services Available on Site

A different librarian will be on site Monday through Friday from 10am to 2pm to assist with any questions that may arise.  You can ask for the librarian at one of the service desks (they will be in their offices).

Interlibrary loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service of the library that can be used when you need a copy of a journal article, newspaper article, conference proceedings, or when you want to borrow a book, microform, or video that is not available from one of the University of Utah libraries (check the library catalog first). The Interlibrary Loan staff will do its best to get a copy or borrow an item for you from another library outside campus.  We cannot guarantee that we will be able to obtain requested materials as many other libraries are not yet open and lending.  Hopefully, our ability to obtain items will increase as libraries reopen.  For more information see our ILL page.

 

Have a Suggestion?

Is there a service you need that you don't see listed here or on our main website? If so, email the Reference Desk with your idea. We will accommodate requests as we are able. 

Library Catalog & Checking Out Items

If you need a book or article for research, check the library catalog. The catalog will search all campus libraries - including all print items and some databases. The catalog is available from the library homepage

Check out the library map if you've found an item in the catalog, but don't know where it is in the law school. If the item is at another campus library, you must retrieve it from that library

If you need a resource from the Reading Room, please ask at one of the service desks and they can retrieve it for you.

Checking Out Items:

Library materials are located on the first, fourth, and fifth floors of the building.  Students should retrieve their own materials whenever possible and check them out in person, using a self-checkout machine, or by email.  Please note that the email option only applies at Faust.  To check out items by email:

  1. Email helpme@law.utah.edu
  2. From your UMail account
  3. Attach a clear picture of the book's barcode.

How do I get my books?

If you are unable to come to the library (for health or other personal reasons), please email the Reference Desk and we will work with you to arrange for curbside pickup.  If you do not retrieve items yourself, you will be notified via email when your requested item is available for on-site pickup.  We are not mailing books.

Books from the Marriott Library:

Students needing items from the Marriott Library will need to request those items via the catalog 24 hours in advance of requested pick-up time (or home delivery).  Patrons will continue to be supplied with electronic versions of titles when available. Patrons will be notified via email when their requested item is available for on-site pickup.You must make your own arrangements to pick up your items at the Marriott Library as there is no campus delivery.  If you are unable to go to the Marriott Library, they are mailing books.  You can find additional information about Marriott Library procedures on their website.

Tutorials on Searching the Catalog:

Tutorial for Requesting a Book from the Catalog

https://uofu.box.com/s/pkwqpbia72vj09set7b7xr4kz9jvqml7 

Databases Available in the Library & Off-Campus Access

The library has a number of databases available for instances when you need to go beyond Westlaw or Lexis to complete a research project. Check out our A-Z Database List.  Our databases provide access to newspapers, legislative history materials, regulatory materials, dockets and much more.  You may also consult the list of databases and journals available through the Marriott Library.  For help finding databases to match your research need see a reference librarian. 

To access databases from off-campus, go to the Law Library webpage and use either the Database Quick Links menu, or go to the A-Z database list. Clicking on Heinonline, Nexis Uni, or any of the databases in the A-Z list with a “U” next to it will take you to your campus login page. Once you are logged in, you should be able to access the database. Continue to use your own individual logins for Bloomberg Law, Westlaw, and Lexis for access to those databases when you are off campus. If that doesn't work, try logging in through the library homepage by clicking on Off-Campus VPN Access or Off-Campus Proxy Login. If an additional password is needed, please contact the Reference Desk.

Some databases require a password to access them.  Normally we log patrons on to these databases and do not give out the password, but this semester is different because of the need for physical distancing.  If you need a password to one of these databases, please contact the Reference Desk.

Course Reserves

There are no physical course reserves for the Fall semester.  Unfortunately, we do not have electronic copies of casebooks either.

Hold Shelf

Hold requests are stored on the second floor this semester instead of in the first floor Reserves room. Please stop by the service desk on level 2 to pick-up your requested items.

Study Aids

The study aid collection has been moved from the Reading Room to the compact shelving on level 1 (the end closest to the microform cabinets). All recent study aids are either in the study aid collection or on reserve. Check the library catalog for titles and availability. Some series included in the collection are:

  • Examples and Explanations
  • Nutshells
  • Sum and Substance Audio (CDs are kept on Reserve)

Quarantine Protocols for Fall 2020

  • All library materials will be quarantined for 7 days upon return, so items will not be immediately available for checkout.  Please factor this in when making your plans.
  • Due to sanitization issues, power cords and phone chargers will not be available for circulation.
  • Please note that the Reading Room will be closed and public computers will not be available for the semester.

Reserves

Items listed as on "Reserve" will be available for checkout from the level 1 service desk.  These items will be quarantined for 7 days upon return.

Exam Reserve

Remember to check our electronic exam reserve for copies of old exams from your professor. You will need to login to access the exams. 

Please note that some professors do not use the electronic exam reserve. 

KIC Scanners

The library has two “KIC” (Knowledge Imaging Center) scanners – one is located near the compact shelving on level one and the other is located on level five.  With these high tech scanners, users can create keyword searchable PDFs which can be saved to a flash drive or sent as an email attachment.  The face-up scanning capability enables users to capture multiple pages quickly – books no longer need to be flipped over to turn the page and then flipped back over for each scan or copy.  The scanner can scan book pages without laying the book flat, thus saving the spines of fragile books and it also produces either color or black & white images.  There is a fifteen minute limit on using the scanner when others are waiting.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library