Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

Moderate Risk
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

Law Library Services - Fall 2020: Services for University of Utah community

Guide to how to navigate the Faust Law Library in Fall 2020

Reference Assistance

Reference assistance is available Monday through Friday, 9am to 5pm.  You can call the reference phone at (801) 581-6184 but please do not leave a message.  If you do not reach a librarian, try calling back another time.  You can also email the Reference Desk at reference@law.utah.edu

What types of questions can you ask?

Reference service is available to assist with questions about the collection, to help find a specific item, or to set up a research strategy. We cannot provide legal advice, nor are we able to conduct research for you. Much legal research can be done online. Reference librarians are available to give help and instruction in how to use online sources. Training in areas requiring extra research skill such as legislative histories, administrative law, and international law is also available, though we recommend setting up an appointment in advance when possible.

Checking Out and Returning Items from the Law Library

Patrons should retrieve their own materials if possible and check them out in person or using a self-checkout machine.  If you are unable to come to the library, please email the Reference Desk and we will arrange for curbside pickup.

Faust Library items can be returned using our drive-up book return located on the north side of the building in our parking lot. 

Tutorial for Requesting a Book from the Catalog

https://uofu.box.com/s/pkwqpbia72vj09set7b7xr4kz9jvqml7 

Quarantine of Materials

All library materials will be quarantined for 7 days upon return, so items will not be immediately available for checkout.  Please factor this in when making your plans.

On Site Services Unavailable

Public computers are not available this semester, and the Reading Room is closed. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Services Available on Site

A different librarian will be on site Monday through Friday from 10am to 2pm to assist with any questions that may arise.  You can ask for the librarian at one of the service desks (they will be in their offices).

Faust Databases

The library has a number of databases available to complete research projects. Check out our A-Z Database List.  Our databases provide access to newspapers, legislative history materials, regulatory materials, dockets and much more.  You may also consult the list of databases and journals available through the Marriott Library.  Contact the reference desk for help finding databases to match your research need.  The campus community has access to databases with a 'U' next to them. 

To access databases from off-campus, go to the Law Library webpage and use either the Database Quick Links menu, or go to the A-Z database list. Clicking on Heinonline, Nexis Uni, or any of the databases in the A-Z list with a “U” next to it will take you to your campus login page. Once you are logged in, you should be able to access the database. If that doesn't work, try logging in through the library homepage by clicking on Off-Campus VPN Access or Off-Campus Proxy Login. 

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library