ULibraries Research Guides: Middle East Studies: Start here

Middle East resources call number

Call Numbers for Arabic:

Books on Arabic as a language (philology, grammar, syntax, dictionaries) are found between the call numbers PJ6001 and PJ7144, with most Arabic-English dictionaries at PJ6640. Arabic literature are found between the call numbers PJ7501 and PJ8517.
LC call numbers for Islam (faith: BP1-253) and Islamic culture & society (Islamic Culture & Society DS35.3-35.77) you can go to Arabic & Islamic Studies guide by Antje Mays: https://libguides.uky.edu/arabic/LCcall

Middle East Studies LibGuide

The Middle East Studies guide has been created to introduce the Middle East Collection and resources, which include dictionaries, encyclopedias, books, databases, guides, as well as audios, films, and other types of media.

About Aziz Atiya

Remembering the Atiyas &Their Gifts to the Library
Remembering the Atiyas &Their Gifts to the Library in Marriott library Newsletter, Fall 2014
On this 55th anniversary of the Aziz S. Atiya Middle East Library, the Marriott Library would like to recognize the Atiya family, who made possible this priceless collection of Middle East resources.
Lola Atiya attended university classes in Egypt and the United States and was highly involved in the library. She was praised by archivists for her innovative ways of preserving papyri and other rare papers. She authored the book

Find Articles through library Databases

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indones…
The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
The Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes work written about the Middle East, the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Jou…
The Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes work written about the Middle East, the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Major areas of coverage include Accounting, Archaeology, Arts Bibliography & Scholarship, Economics, Education, the Middle East, Geography, History, Islam, Law, Literature, Natural & Applied Sciences, Philosophy, Politics, Religion, Social Sciences, Theology, Travel, and Zoology.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new ful…
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertation publishing partnerships with over 700 academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Topics include world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and others. The collection indexes more than 3,100 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Coverage dates vary by title.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat's search covers over 30 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. The database has holdings information for many US and some foreign libraries, and is updated daily. WorldCat Quick Search is also available to the general public.
Note: WorldCat Discovery Services will replace OCLC FirstSearch in late 2016. WorldCat Discovery is available to all current OCLC FirstSearch subscribers as part of existing subscriptions. FirstSearch will operate in parallel with WorldCat Discovery through the end of access date, allowing libraries to choose their transition timing. WorldCat Local and WorldShare Management Services subscribers have access to WorldCat Discovery and all optional features.
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in various fields of Jewish studies and the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, drawn pimarily from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The collection includes offprints of articles from journals or collections, as well as listings of artic…
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in various fields of Jewish studies and the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, drawn pimarily from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The collection includes offprints of articles from journals or collections, as well as listings of articles from secondary sources. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research or contain information for such research.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997), as well as hundreds of thousands of entries compiled since then. Full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the journal title browse function. The online BAS offers users various methods to search for citations. In addition to using the search function, users can browse by…
The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997), as well as hundreds of thousands of entries compiled since then. Full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the journal title browse function. The online BAS offers users various methods to search for citations. In addition to using the search function, users can browse by country-subject, or by journal title. A separate screen allows users to set their preferences for displaying and downloading data in different formats and character encodings. The BAS is updated regularly, with thousands of new entries in each upload.

Middle East Studies program

Middle East Studies is an interdisciplinary program which offers students the opportunity to study the Middle East in depth from a variety of perspectives. The program includes instruction in the major languages (Arabic, Hebrew, and Persian) of the region, advanced training in literature and linguistics, and area studies concentrating on the history, politics, economics, religions, cultures and social institutions of the Middle East. Courses are offered through the Middle East Center in conjunction with the departments of Anthropology, Economics, History, Languages and Literature and Political Science.

U of U Middle East Center

Transliteration Charts

When searching for the Middle Eastern books, please remember to use the appropriate transliteration/Romanization scheme. Marriott Library, like North American and UK libraries, uses the ALA-LC transliteration tables of the Library of Congress.