Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A business guide is a formal, written document which includes both a financial and market analysis of the business. These plans are frequently developed as part of the loan application or as a means of formally analyzing the business enterprise. Typical elements in a business plan include:
- Description of Product or Service
- Business History
- Market Analysis
- Competition Analysis
- Financial Information
- Strengths and Weaknesses
- Growth Potential
Online Business Plan Resources
This page provides an introduction to resources related to the writing and development of business plans. Resources include print guides, online business plan toolkits, and related databases. Users are encouraged to consult other business research guides for additional information on business and company research.
Professional, Technical Writing
Purdue OWL's guide to format and style of different types of business writing.
Writing a Business Plan
A website by the U.S. Small Business Administration outling the steps in planning, writing, and enacting a business plan
Provides a website dedicated to the small business start-up. Includes business plan examples and other advice for the new entrepreneur. This site also sells Business Plan Pro, a commercial product to assist in the development of business plans. However, much of the site's content is available free of charge.
Business Plans Basics (Small Business Administration)
Developed by the Small Business Administration (SBA), this online resource provides a comprehensive discussion of the core elements found in a business plan. While it does not include sample plans, it does provide a self-paced tutorial/worksheet to assist the business plan writer and numerous other useful SBA links. Also available in Spanish.
More Business: Business and Marketing Plans
Includes templates and examples for business and marketing plans.
Small Business Plan Guides
Provides access to a large number of guides designed to assist the new business owner. The guides are available as downloadable pdf files.
Business Plans Resources
The Business Plan Workbook by
Call Number: HD30.28 .B3685 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Tough economic conditions mean that securing funds for your business - whether it's start-up, expansion or venture funding you need - can be a real challenge, and is rarely possible without an exceptional business plan. This completely revised new edition of The Business Plan Workbook gives you the background knowledge, tools and resources required to produce a really persuasive plan. With expert advice on all stages of business planning, international case studies and examples of real-life business plans from successful businesses of all sizes, this book is essential reading for anyone in business. The step-by-step approach covers all the key topics, including:
Value Proposition Design by
Publication Date: 2015-01-26
The authors of the international bestseller Business Model Generation explain how to create value propositions customers can't resist Value Proposition Design helps you tackle the core challenge of every business -- creating compelling products and services customers want to buy. This highly practical book, paired with its online companion, will teach you the processes and tools you need to create products that sell. Using the same stunning visual format as the authors' global bestseller, Business Model Generation, this sequel explains how to use the "Value Proposition Canvas" to design, test, create, and manage products and services customers actually want. Value Proposition Design is for anyone who has been frustrated by new product meetings based on hunches and intuitions; it's for anyone who has watched an expensive new product launch fail in the market. The book will help you understand the patterns of great value propositions, get closer to customers, and avoid wasting time with ideas that won't work. You'll learn the simple process of designing and testing value propositions, that perfectly match customers' needs and desires. In addition the book gives you exclusive access to an online companion on Strategyzer.com. You will be able to assess your work, learn from peers, and download pdfs, checklists, and more. Value Proposition Design is an essential companion to the "Business Model Canvas" from Business Model Generation, a tool embraced globally by startups and large corporations such as MasterCard, 3M, Coca Cola, GE, Fujitsu, LEGO, Colgate-Palmolive, and many more. Value Proposition Design gives you a proven methodology for success, with value propositions that sell, embedded in profitable business models."
The Startup Owner's Manual by
Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection HD62.5 .B53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Now a decade after The Four Steps to the Epiphany sparked the Lean Startup revolution, comes its sequel... The Startup Owner's Manual. The Manual incorporates 10 years of learning and best practices that have swept the startup world. It incorporates the Business Model Canvas as the organizing principle for startup hypotheses, provides separate paths and advice for web/mobile products versus physical products, offers a wealth of detailed instruction on how to get, keep, and grow customers recognizing the different techniques for web and physical channels and teaches a "new math" for startups: "metrics that matter for fueling growth." The Startup Owner's Manual is a step-by-step, near-encyclopedic reference manual or "how to" for building a successful, scalable startup. Want to know what to do the first, week, month or year? What's the right distribution channel for your product? How to get traffic to your web site? ...and how to activate customers or users on arrival? Who are the right "first customers," and why? ...plus many more great tips in nearly 500 pages, complete with index, glossary, and Customer Development Checklists. It's the indispensible reference guide for any startup founder, entrepreneur, investor or educator.
Business Report Guides by
Publication Date: 2019-01-03
This book offers tactics for creating business plans as well as research reports. Readers will find guides for planning research projects; writing proposals; identifying major findings; drawing conclusions; and using them to recommend appropriate actions-along with citing sources, numbering pages, and displaying visuals. The book examines business plans-why entrepreneurs need them, the objectives and contents of business plans, and how-to guides for each part. Business Report Guides can be your go-to source for years to come. Reading through it in a couple of hours, you can gain information for immediate use. Keep it handy and refer to it often when reporting research or when planning a new business or altering an existing one.
How to Write a Business Plan by
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Step-by-step advice on preparing a business plan You need a sound business plan to start a business or raise money to expand an existing one. For over 30 years, How to Write a Business Plan has helped fledgling entrepreneurs--from small service businesses and retailers to large manufacturing firms--write winning plans and get needed financing. This bestselling book contains clear step-by-step instructions and forms to put together a convincing business plan with realistic financial projections, effective marketing strategies, and overall business goals. You'll learn how to: figure out if your business idea will make money determine and forecast cash flow create profit and loss forecasts prepare marketing and personnel plans find potential sources of financing, and present your well-organized plan to lenders and other backers. This edition is updated to reflect best practices for raising money (from SBA loans to equity crowdfunding).
Faster Disaster Recovery by
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Protect your company's finances in the event of a disaster In the face of an environmental or man-made disaster, it's imperative to have a contingency plan that's mapped out your corporation's strategy to minimize the impact on the daily functions or life of the corporation. Successful planning not only can limit the damage of an unforeseen disaster but also can minimize daily mishaps--such as the mistaken deletion of files--and increase a business's overall efficiency. Faster Disaster Recovery provides a 10-step approach for business owners on creating a disaster recovery plan (from both natural and man-made events). Each chapter ends with thought-provoking questions that allow business owners to explore their particular situation. Covers natural events such as earthquakes and floods Provides guidance on dealing with man-made events such as terrorist attacks Offers worksheets to make your contingency plans Includes several examples throughout the book There's no time like the present to develop a business contingency plan--and this book shows you how.