Geology & Geophysics
GeoScienceWorld eBooks: Temporary access for COVID-19
GSW Publishers offer public access to ebooks through June 30, 2020. The following GSW book publishers have extended public access to all of their ebooks:
- American Association of Petroleum Geologists
- Canadian Science Publishing
- Clay Minerals Society
- Geological Society of America
- Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland
- SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology
- Society of Economic Geologists
- University of Wyoming
The ebooks can be accessed at: https://pubs.geoscienceworld.org/books
Additional Library Resources
Glossary of Geology. QE 5 B38 2005 Level 1.
Other specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks for the geosciences can be found in the QE section, Level 1.
The Map Collection has about 250,000 sheets. We attempt to have medium-scale coverage (1:250,000 or 4 miles to the inch) of all land areas of the world. In addition, we collect national atlases, geologic maps, street maps of large or often-visited cities, and gazetteers. We receive virtually all maps published by the U.S. Geological Survey. These include the nearly 60,000 sheets of topographic maps which make up the most detailed published maps of the country. We have many maps from the Army Map Service and its successors (the Defense Mapping Agency (DMA), National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA) and National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA)), and nautical charts from the Office of Coast Survey, part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The library tries to obtain all published maps on Utah and nearby areas for either the Map Collection or Special Collections. The library owns some satellite imagery of Utah, but very few aerial photographs.
Search the online catalog to see what we own. An advanced keyword search is often the most effective since one seldom knows the exact name of a map or cartographer.
title keyword: salt lake city
subject keyword: maps
general keyword: 2002
If you don't find anything under the geographic name you have used, try a more inclusive name. Maps are often published as large sheets or sets, and the area you want may be covered on a map of a broader area, e.g. berkeley to alameda county to san francisco metropolitan area. Publishers feel that the market or audience for thematic maps is limited, therefore subject maps may not exist for many areas. National and state atlases are good sources of specialized subject maps.
Map publishing is complicated; we may have coverage of an area as part of a much larger set. Don't hesitate to ask the Map Librarian, Ken Rockwell (801-581-8324) or the Knowledge Commons Desk (801-581-6273) for help. Most maps can be checked out.
Suggest a Purchase
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.