- University of Utah
- ULibraries Research Guides
- * Marriott Library Research Guides
- Reference
- Standards & Codes (ASTM, IEEE, Fire, etc.)
Reference
What is a Standard?
"Simply stated, a standard is a document used repeatedly as a rule, guideline or definition. It is developed by a committee of experts who work within different areas of a particular industry – this ensures that the standard is well-rounded."
[From: The American Welding Society Standards https://www.aws.org/standards]
TechStreet for Technical Standards
If you are looking for current technical standards such as the latest ASME, ASCE, ASHRAE, ISO, SAE, etc standards, please search TechStreet. Request the standard for free through the Marriott Library's Interlibrary Loan, or contact the SHEM team if you need it immediately. We may be able to purchase the standard for you. This service is only available for current U of U faculty, staff, or students.
- Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
TechStreet Enterprise is a reference tool providing a small number of technical standards for University of Utah students and employees. The standards provided vary from year to year.
Standards & Codes Databases
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass contains, standards, journals, technical papers, manuals, and data series published by ASTM International.
- FDA's Recognized Consensus Standards DatabaseThis database consists of those national and international standards recognized by FDA which manufacturers can declare conformity to and is part of the information the Center can use to make an appropriate decision regarding the clearance or approval of a submission. Information submitted on conformance with such standards will have a direct bearing on safety and effectiveness determinations made during the review of IDEs, HDEs, PMAs, and PDPs. Conformance with recognized consensus standards in and of itself, however, may not always be a sufficient basis for regulatory decisions.
- IEEE (Browse Standards) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to standards dating back to 1988 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the Institutions of Electrical Engineers (IEE), and Society of Motion Pictures & Television Engineers (STPTE) standards . - MAD CAD This link opens in a new windowMAD CAD is a reference database containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and industry guidelines. Various building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from NFPA are included in the collection. Results can be tailored to state and local areas. If we do not have the code you are looking for, please use Tech Street.
- Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
TechStreet Enterprise is a reference tool providing a small number of technical standards for University of Utah students and employees. The standards provided vary from year to year.
How to use ASTM Compass
Watch this Introduction to ASTM Compass video
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
Subject Specialist
Marriott Library, University of Utah
295 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Tallie Casucci
