Management 6071 Corporate Strategy

Corporate strategy is the firm’s theory on how to gain competitive advantage by operating in multiple markets and/or industries simultaneously. This guid will help the students using industry and competitive analysis of business environment.

Home

Welcome to the Marriott Library!

outside view of the marriott library building and people are walking around outside with backpacks on.  Additionally, the library's logo and "50 years, all you need" slogan is overlaid on the photo.

The librarians at Marriott Library are here to help with all of your research needs.
Stop by the Knowledge Commons desk, make an appointment with a librarian,
or ask us a question via our e-mail reference service - we'll be happy to help!

Useful Links

Library Services

  • If you spend more than 15 minutes looking for something, ask a librarian for help.  We are here to help.

  • Off-Campus access is available to most of our resources. I recommend using the 

  • Interlibrary Loan provides access to books and journal articles not available at the Library. Most journal articles will be sent to you electronically in 3-5 business days. If you are a first-time user, register here.

  • The University Writing Center provides thesis, grant, and proposal assistance

  • Laptop and uNID support available in the Knowledge Commons (Level 2).

  • Have ideas for research or teaching innovations? The services available in the Digital Scholarship Lab can help you.

Annual Reports

Company financial reports

The Annual Reports Library
http://www.zpub.com/sf/arl/

Annual Reports Library
http://www.carol.co.uk/

CAROL: Company Annual Reports Online
http://www.prars.com/newform2.html

Public Register's Annual Report Service
http://www.hc.cc.tx.us/library/busar.htm

Public Register's Annual Reports Service
http://www.prars.com/ 

Annual Report Service
http://www.annualreportservice.com

Annual Reports.com

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Business Plans Resources

Overview

A business guide is a formal, written document which includes both a financial and market analysis of the business. These plans are frequently developed as part of the loan application or as a means of formally analyzing the business enterprise. Typical elements in a business plan include:

  • Description of Product or Service
  • Business History
  • Market Analysis
  • Competition Analysis
  • Management
  • Financial Information
  • Strengths and Weaknesses
  • Growth Potential

Online Business Plan Resources

This page provides an introduction to resources related to the writing and development of business plans. Resources include print guides, online business plan toolkits, and related databases.  Users are encouraged to consult other business research guides for additional information on business and company research.

Business Plans Resources

Company Research

Company Research

A private company is held by a handful of people, often the founder and a few others. It does not sell stock to the general public, and therefore, does not have an obligation to disclose its financial information. Finding financial information on a private company can sometimes be difficult.

A public company, on the other hand, has sold a part of its business or its stock to the general public. By law it is required to disclose its financial information and file specific reports with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

If you are not sure if a company is public or private, check these sources.

http://www.mergentonline.com/private20madvancedsearch.php

http://www.mergentonline.com/basicsearch.php

International Business Statistics

  Information on Conducting Business in Other Couintries

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Industry Resources

Industry Ratio & Industry Classification

All databases can be accessed from U of U campus.  Make sure to log into our website via "off campus access" if you are off campus.

Industry Analysis Resources

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Interdisciplinary Resources

Interdisplinary Resources

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Information on Conducting Business on other Countries

Information on Conducting Business in Other Couintries

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

International Business Statistics

International Business Statistics

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Research Help

Help (Reference, Research, and Computer Support)

Welcome to the Marriott Library. We are here to helpService Desks are located on all five levels of the Marriott Library.  The best place to get both research and technology assistance is the Knowledge Commons on Level 2. If you would like individual assistance from librarians, please contact Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai or Alfred Mowdood.

The most popular service desks in the Marriott library are:

Service Desk Level Phone Assistance & Collections

Knowledge Commons

Level 2

581-6494

581-6273

  • Computer support (laptop & wireless issues, password & uNID, printing)
  • Assistance with scanning, video-editing, and microform machines
  • Finding books, journals, videos, DVDs, & CDs
  • Research, library, and reference assistance

Special Collections

Middle East

Level 4

Level 3

581-8863

585-0344

  • Treasures of the Library, Western Americana, Rare Books, & Ski Archives
  • Materials in Arabic, Persian, Hebrew, & English. 5th largest collection in the U.S.
  • Research, library, and reference assistance

Fine Arts

Level 2 581-8104
  • Visual Arts, Music, Art History, Architecture, Ballet, & Modern Dance
  • Research, library, and reference assistance

Level 1 Reference

Level 1 581-7533
  • Finding books and journals. Research, library, and reference assistance

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Information about Plagiarism

Avoiding Plagiarism

Below are some useful sources of information on avoiding plagiarism from colleges and universities.

What is Plagiarism?

When you use other's ideas and words without giving them credit, you are plagiarising their work. The University of Utah Student Code defines plagiarism, along with cheating, as academic misconduct:

University of Utah Policy 6-400: Code of Student Rights and Responsibilities (“Student Code”), Section I. B. 2.:

1.  “Academic misconduct” includes, but is not limited to, cheating, misrepresenting one's work, inappropriately collaborating, plagiarism, and fabrication or falsification of information, as defined further below. It also includes facilitating academic misconduct by intentionally helping or attempting to help another to commit an act of academic misconduct.

a.  “Cheating” involves the unauthorized possession or use of information, materials, notes, study aids, or other devices in any academic exercise, or the unauthorized communication with another person during such an exercise. Common examples of cheating include, but are not limited to, copying from another student's examination, submitting work for an in-class exam that has been prepared in advance, violating rules governing the administration of exams, having another person take an exam, altering one's work after the work has been returned and before resubmitting it, or violating any rules relating to academic conduct of a course or program.

b.  Misrepresenting one's work includes, but is not limited to, representing material prepared by another as one's own work, or submitting the same work in more than one course without prior permission of both faculty members.

c. “Plagiarism” means the intentional unacknowledged use or incorporation of any other person's work in, or as a basis for, one's own work offered for academic consideration or credit or for public presentation. Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, representing as one's own, without attribution, any other individual’s words, phrasing, ideas, sequence of ideas, information or any other mode or content of expression.

d. “Fabrication” or “falsification” includes reporting experiments or measurements or statistical analyses never performed; manipulating or altering data or other manifestations of research to achieve a desired result; falsifying or misrepresenting background information, credentials or other academically relevant information; or selective reporting, including the deliberate suppression of conflicting or unwanted data. It does not include honest error or honest differences in interpretations or judgments of data and/or results.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mohammad Mirfakhrai
Contact:
Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Style/Citation Manuals

Style Guides

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library