Toxic Substances and Environmental Medicine Research Tools

Data

• Environmental Health and Toxicology portal - from the Specialized Information Services (SIS) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM.) Free.
• Chemical Information Web Links from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Specialized Information Services (SIS.) Free.
• HazMap "is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work."
• TOXMAPGeographic representation of TRI data with links to other TOXNET resources.
  • TRI, Toxics Release Inventory. Reporting years 1995 - 2000. Free.
• TOXNET from the Specialized Information Services (SIS) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM.) Free.
  • ChemIDplus, A database of 350,000 chemical records, including over 100,000 with structures. Locator links allow immediate searching of other [NLM] databases for information about a given chemical." National Library of Medicine (NLM.) Free.
  • HSDB, Hazardous Substances Data Bank. "Broad scope in human and animal toxicity, safety and handling, environmental fate, and more. Scientifically peer-reviewed." Free.
  • IRIS, Integrated Risk Information System. "Data from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in support of human health risk assessment. It, focuses on identifying hazards and assessing the connection between dose and response." Free.
  • CCRIS, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System. "Carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition data provided by the National Cancer Institute (NCI)." Free.
  • GENE-TOX "Peer-reviewed mutagenicity test data from the EPA." Free.
• ToxSeek - a meta-search engine from a wide range of authoritative sources. Free.
• TRI - Toxic Release Inventory- data on disposal or other releases of 0 toxic chemicals from U.S. facilities

• CCOHS Web Information Service (Canada's Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Searching is free, but most data is licensed for University of Utah only.
  Health safety, and environmental information. Includes:
• CHEMINDEX
• CHEMINFO
• CHEMpendium
• Fatality Reports Database
• MSDS
• OSH References (OSHLINE with NIOSHTIC/NIOSHTIC-2, HSELINE, CISILO,)
• RTECS
• PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules, and is linked within NCBI's Entrez databases. Free.

Statistics

• CDC's Data & Statistics
• FDA, U.S. Food & Drug Adminstration
• Faststats from NCHS
• NCHS, National Center for Health Statistics
• Statistical Abstract of the United States
• Statistical Universe A Lexis/Nexis database of statistical information from leading federal, state, private & international governmental documents. Links to selected full-text publications.
• Utah Department of Health Data & Statistics
  • IBIS Utah's Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health provides statistical numerical data as well as contextual information on the health status of Utahns and the state of Utah's health care system.