ULibraries Research Guides: Ph.D Orientation: Company Research

Company Research

BCC Research
Academic institutions around the globe subscribe to BCC Research to utilize the vast library of market research reports that aid students, professors, and technology transfer professionals in conducting research projects. Students appreciate the depth and specificity of BCC Research reports, finding it easy to uncover all of the data they need, from growth trends and market opportunities to geographic breakdowns and company profiles.

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Best starting to finding trade publication and scholarly articles. Includes the full-text of over 1,000 journals including the Harvard Business Review

Gale Business Insights: Global
Can find SWOT analyses.

Provides students and researchers with the broad yet detailed coverage of international business.
Factiva
This database provides access to licensed content from Dow Jones journalists, media outlets, trade and consumer publications and business Web sites. Factiva also contains in-depth company, executive and industry profiles, expert analysis, market data and other reports.

Mergent Archives
Dating back to the mid 1800's, Mergent's Historical Annual Reports collections offers over 1,000,000 documents available in .PDF format for the United States, Canada and Europe. Access an extensive library of high-quality historical documents featuring rich textual details and in-depth analyses on thousands of global companies.
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect is a collection of worldwide business information.

Mergent Online
Most comprehensive database for both national and international company research. All financials "as reported." Providing unparalleled review of balance sheets, income statement, expenditures, assets, liabilities, cash flow, performance trends, and more. Offers industry reports and country profiles.

more... less...

U.S. Company Data
An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings

International Company Data
More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases

U.S. Annual Reports
Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document

International Annual Reports
Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats

Corporate Visibility
Expanded, in-depth, and detailed descriptions of public companies as they appear in the Mergent Manuals (fka Moody's Manuals), which were first published in 1918.
Nexis Uni
Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options

Pitchbook
PitchBook allows you to search private equity and venture capital deals by various criteria. PitchBook also contains information on mergers and acquisitions. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals and gather information on investors. This database requires individuals to create a personal account which expires annually. Create your personal account while on campus using a valid @utah.edu email address. The PitchBook database is view only and for students enrolled at the University of Utah. Students, faculty, and staff requiring data downloads should contact Alfred Mowdood - alfred.mowdood@utah.edu / 801-585-7125 requesting an appointment.
PrivCo
NOTE: This database requires (free) user registration before use.
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

Email Me

Contact:

Dr. Mohammad Mirfakhrai
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P
801-581-7024
Email:mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu
Office Hours
Monday-Thursday 9-10

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Entrepreneurship & Strategy, Finance, Industry, Information Systems, Management, Marketing, MBA Resources, Operations & Information Systems