Education, Culture, and Society: Finding Articles
What are Open Access Journals?
From the Directory of Open Access Journals website: "We define open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. From the BOAI definition [1] of "open access" we take the right of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory. "
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included.
Click here to view Open Access Journals across many disciplines.
Education Article Databases
- Education Full-Text with ERICThis listing provides access to the combined content of EBSCO's ERIC and Education Full Text (EFT) databases. EFT contains the full text of articles with indexing cover to cover from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE. Click http://support.ebsco.com/tutorials/ehost/ for tutorials outlining how to effectively use EBSCOhost databases.
- ERIC (Dept. of Education)The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, that consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature selected by ERIC from 1966 - 2003.
Currently ERIC has disabled access to many ERIC full-text PDFs published prior to 2005 due to the discovery of personally identifiable information in some documents. As an alternative Education Full Text (via EBSCO) includes many of the articles in its database. - PsycInfoContains citations and summaries from the world's serial and book literature in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, including sociology, education, business, economics, and law. It includes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, citations to dissertations, and some full text articles.
- PsycArticlesA definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, the database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. From the American Psychological Association (APA). Search this database on your mobile device!
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a collection of over 500 full-text journals focused on professional education. Some of the titles indexed by this database are Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The collection also contains …
Additional Scholarly Databases
- Dissertation & Theses GlobalDissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Use this link from off campus, which will route your session through our proxy server, and thus make sure that links within Google Scholar work.
- JSTORWith more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR provides easy access to full-text content. Does not include the most recent articles from the included journals.
- Left IndexA complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Search this database on your mobile device!
- Sociological AbstractsFormerly SocioFile, now including the full Sociological Abstracts, this database covers sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, conference papers, and book reviews.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. Scopus offers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, 36 million records.
What is SFX?
A Tip: 
You may wonder what this symbol means when it appears in the some of the Marriott Library's article databases. If
you, the researcher, clicks on the link, the software represented by
the icon will provide a link to an online version of the article if the
library has purchased online access. You won’t have to look for the
article in a printed version of the journal.
