ULibraries Research Guides: Pre-Law LEAP Fall 2022: Library Session #2

Subject Specialist

they/them

Email Me

Contact:

J. Willard Marriott Library
295 S 1500 E Salt Lake City, UT
Phone: 801-585-3922

Subjects: Accessibility, Accounting, Bibliometrics, Business, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Entrepreneurship & Strategy, Gender Studies, Grants, Impact Factor, Information Systems, LEAP, Library Staff Guides, Management, Marketing, MBA Resources, Operations & Information Systems, Social Sciences, Test Preparation

Finding Case Law

What are databases and why do you need them?

Research Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Using this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and sel…
Using this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and select the options for the University of Utah which appear below the text field. Hit 'Save' at the bottom right of the page, and you will then be ready to start using Google Scholar.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background mat…
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
This listing provides access to all of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through EBSCOhost. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them. The number of databases listed here may change as the University adds or removes EBSCOhost content from our collections. For more information about the databases that EBSCOhost provides access to, open this list and then click on the 'More Information' button next to a…
This listing provides access to all of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through EBSCOhost. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them. The number of databases listed here may change as the University adds or removes EBSCOhost content from our collections. For more information about the databases that EBSCOhost provides access to, open this list and then click on the 'More Information' button next to any of the individual databases.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a database of searchable full-text content from four library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Coverage extends from the 18th century to the present, and varies by collection.

OWL Purdue

OWL Purdue Writing Guide - MLA

Adding LEAP Database Citations to EndNote Basic

In-Class Exercise - Using Databases

1.) Using the library website, find the CQ Researcher database and look at the “Hot Topics” in CQ researcher. Pick a topic of interest and skim the report. Who is the author? What are their credentials? Click on "Cite Now" and take note of how the citations look different in MLA vs. APA vs. other styles. Does the article give a sense of history? Does it look at both sides of the debate? Now look at the footnotes/bibliography. What kinds of sources does CQ researcher use in their research?

2.) Go to lib.utah.edu and click on “Research Databases”. Now search “Browse Databases by Subject” and drop-down to your major or a subject you are interested in. Scan the list of databases to see what kinds of databases are available for your discipline. Do any of them surprise you or sound interesting?

Pre-Law LEAP Fall 2022