Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remember to check the key resources:
Access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. A first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
U.S. Census Bureau
"Serve(s) as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy." Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.
U. S. Government data and statistical resources
Features an alphabetical list of data resources from government agencies. Includes all topics from health, education, economic, crime, child and family, immigration, genealogy, labor and many more.
An independent research project that measures the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. During Round 1, from July 1999 through June 2001, Afrobarometer surveys were conducted in 12 countries. Round 2 surveys were conducted from May 2002 through October 2003 in 15 countries. Round 3 surveys in 18 countries are planned for 2005-6. Survey microdata are released to the public two years after the first publication of a survey's results. Available through ICPSR.
American National Election Studies
The principal survey of voting behavior in the United States, conducted biennially since 1956. Basic questions on religious identification and attendance at religious services have been asked throughout the time series, but the religion module was substantially widened and improved starting in 1990. Contains links to download all the data.
American Public Opinion and US Foreign Policy Series
This series of quadrennial studies was designed to investigate the opinions and attitudes of the general public and a select group of opinion leaders on matters relating to United States foreign policy and to define the parameters of public opinion within which decision-makers must operate. Data cover 1975-2004.
Canadian Opinion Research Archive
Founded in 1992, the CORA contains hundreds of surveys collected by major commercial Canadian firms dating back to the 1970s. Most of the datasets are not available for direct download but access to the archive may be requested.
Eurobarometer Survey Series. 1970+
Large set of surveys measuring public opinion in the countries of the European Union, on a wide variety of topics. Eurobarometer Question Search
Online search tool for finding whether and when a topic was covered on the Eurobarometer surveys.
Jpoll - The Roper Center's Japanese Data Archive
JPOLL contains more than 10,000 public opinion questions and the respective responses from Japan's major survey research sources. These studies cover social, political, and economic topics throughout the current decade. Restricte to NU.
Latin American Databank at Roper
The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. Restricted to NU.
Odum Institute Public Opinion Poll Question Database
The Odum Institute houses the Louis Harris Data Center, the national depository for publicly available survey data collected by Louis Harris and Associates, Inc. More than 1,200 Harris Polls from as early as 1958 are archived at the Center. Other public opinion data at the Institute include the Carolina Polls and Southern Focus Polls, Gallup polls from the U.S. and other countries, and polls from major broadcasting networks and newspapers.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is an independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues.