Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Images & Video
Videos and images can provide information and a visual element to your paper/presentation.
Dance in Video
Features streaming videos of 20th century dance performances and documentaries about choreographers and dance training. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Provides streamed access to 50+ dance, music, theater, and experimental/installation art performances, captured on multiple HD cameras by the Seattle-based performing arts venue On The Boards.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with over 1,300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts, among others, and is continuously updated.
Video streams of 1,200 classical music, opera, and ballet performances by international companies and artists. Includes broadcasts of live musical events.
Films On Demand
Streaming video of historically significant performing arts productions, news programs, TV series, and documentaries. Featured producers include BBC, PBS, MVD Entertainment, Films for the Humanities, and Royal Opera House.
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. Images, texts, sounds, and videos.
Ethnographic Video Online
Explore the history, religion, philosophy, and much more, of cultures from around the world in these documentary interviews and films.
American History in Video
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 4,248 titles, equaling approximately 1,031 hours.
Theatre in Video
Access more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries featuring notable playwrights, actors and directors.
Provides curated collections of more than 2 million images of art, architecture, artifacts, and primary documents, including costume and set renderings, playbills, production photos, etc. Time periods range from ancient to modern and geographic locations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. (Off-campus? Read "More" information below.)
The Vogue Archive
Comprises every issue--more than 400,000 pages--in high resolution color from 1892 to today. Search by designer, photographer, model, author, advertiser, label/brand, article of clothing, fabric/material, color, and more!
Digitized Library Collections
Marriott Library hosts
more than 100 oustanding digital collections, containing 1+ million
digital photographs, newspapers, maps, books, audio recordings, and
other items. The following may be of particular interest for Architecture research.
J. Willard Marriott Digital Library
Hosts more than 100 outstanding digital collections, containing over 1 million digital photographs, newspapers, maps, books, audio recordings, and other items.
Mountain West Digital Library
The Mountain West Digital Library is an aggregation of digital collections about the Mountain West region of the United States. This portal provides free access to more than 270,000 resources in over 300 collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, Idaho, and Hawaii.
USpace / UofU Institutional Repository
A collaborative project between the libraries at the University of Utah and the University community. Its goal is to collect and archive the intellectual capital of the institution and make those scholarly materials freely available on the Internet. The repository includes three distinct collections: Theses and Dissertations (written by UofU students), U Scholar Works (peer-reviewed articles), and Electronic University Archives (other materials produced by and about the UofU).
Utah Digital Newspapers
The Utah Digital Newspapers makes historic Utah newspapers available to the general public over the Internet. We create a database of digital images and searchable text from old newspapers and make it accessible from our website. At this writing, the database holds 750,000 pages from 58 distinct titles, from 1850-1982.