Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Encyclopedia Articles
Encyclopedia articles are an excellent way to quickly learn the basic information about your research topic, providing you with the terminology and names you'll need for further research.
We have hundreds of encyclopedias in print editions on topics ranging from American Art to Zombies! To find them:
- Go to Usearch, the library catalog
- Search for: Encyclopedias AND ...
- Replace the .... with a concept or research topic. For example: Encyclopedias AND American Art
- If needed, limit your results using the Resource Type and Subject options in the right-side column.
- If you see a link under the title that says "Available At" or "Checked Out," the encyclopedia is available in print. If you see a link for "Online Access," it's available as an e-book.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Marriott Library, Level 2, Fine Arts Library Reference: GV1585.I586 1998. (Also available as an e-book. You must be on campus or logged into Off Campus Access to view it.)
Oxford Reference Online: Performing Arts
Online access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, timelines, and quotations. Covers a wide variety of topics, including the performing and visual arts.
3,000,000 full-text entries in over 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, and other sources.
Find Biographies in Books
Use the library catalog's Advanced Search mode. Search for the phrase biography AND name, where name is an actual person’s name, to find books about that person. You can replace the word name with the terms choreographers or dancers for broader results.
Find Biographies in Databases
Free, online resources
Asian Traditional Theatre & Dance
An encyclopedia of names and terms related to the Asian performing arts, spanning 12 countries and focusing on the traditional forms of theatre and dance.
A unique collection of streamed videos of international (primarily western) dance performances, documentaries, interviews, and narratives.
DanceWeb: Contemporary Dance Directory
This directory is exclusively dedicated to contemporary dance companies and choreographers world wide.
NYPL Digital Collections: Filmed Dances
New York Public Library Digital Collections provide free access to archival media, including filmed dance, theatre, and other arts performances.