Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Marriott Library Databases
World Newspaper Archive
Includes long runs of nineteenth-century newspapers from Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama and Peru, and shorter runs of papers from those countries and others.
MLA [Modern Language Association] International Bibliography
Provides access to records in over 3,000 journals and series, as well as a collection of monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats, in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Online
"The database of Latin American journal articles"; provides full-text articles from over 600 worldwide journals in the social sciences and humanities, and citations to 200,000 more articles.
Provides full-text articles from over 150 scholarly Spanish-language journals.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
The world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
The world's largest bibliographic database, used by most libraries in the US and Canada (and many other parts of the world) for cataloging and Interlibrary Loan. This makes it the best place to go to learn of the existence of books, journals, films (and much more) and determine where they can be found.
HathiTrust is large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries that includes content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. About a third of the content is in the public domain and open to all researchers, while other HathiTrust content is available to partner institutions (including the University of Utah) on a limited basis.
The resources listed here don't require a uNID/password -- they're freely available to all on the internet. The links to online hemerotecas (a word defined by the first resource in this list as "biblioteca en que principalmente se guardan y sirven al público diarios y otras publicaciones periódicas") should be useful for your research in this course. The newspapers in these hemerotecas will complement those available in the World Newspaper Archive mentioned in the box to the left. Also potentially useful are the digitized books, manuscripts and other materials available from libraries around the world. I've only included links to a small number of these -- there are many, many more.