Basic Legal Research by
This best-selling coursebook on legal research is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Sixth Edition breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation, and an accompanying workbook provides exercises to test comprehension. Key Features of the Sixth Edition: Clear, step-by-step instruction covering the basics of legal research; A building-block approach that breaks the material into discrete and comprehensible parts; Self-contained chapters on research sources that make the book adaptable to any type of legal research course; End-of-chapter checklists, numerous examples, and summary charts that aid in understanding, retention, and review; Updated sample pages, screen shots, and references to research sources; Completely revised material throughout, providing thorough instruction in the features and use of the main research platforms. Its updated coverage includes WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law.
Fundamentals of Legal Research by
This classic textbook has been updated to include the latest methods and resources. Fundamentals of Legal Research provides an authoritative introduction and guide to all aspects of legal research, integrating electronic and print sources. The Tenth Edition includes chapters on the true basics (case reporting, statutes, and so on) as well as more specialized chapters on legislative history, tax law, international law, and the law of the United Kingdom. A new chapter addresses Native American tribal law. Chapters on the research process, legal writing, and citation format help integrate legal research into the larger process of solving legal problems and communicating the solutions. This edition includes an updated glossary of research terms and revised tables and appendixes. Because of its depth and breadth, this text is well suited for advanced legal research classes; it is a book that students will want to retain for future use. Moreover, it has a place on librarians' and attorneys' ready reference shelves. Barkan, Bintliff and Whisner's Assignments to Fundamentals of Legal Research complements the text.
Legal Research Methods by
The Murray and DeSanctis titles are designed for the current generation of law students whose familiarity and comfort with on-line and computer-based learning create a demand for teaching resources that take advantage of that familiarity and comfort level. Legal Research Methods provides a process-based text covering all aspects of first year legal analysis and research. This book focuses on legal research tools and the theory and practice of legal research written from a practitioner's perspective. It discusses planning for research and performing research, and provides criteria for determining when you are finished with your research. It has sample research plans for tight budgets in terms of time or expense, and its process-oriented methodology is designed to maximize research results in the most economical ways. Paired with the book is an electronic, computer-based version of the text that adds links to on-line databases and internet-based resources and supplements the text with pop-up definitions from Black's Law Dictionary. The electronic version of the text is searchable and highly portable, with internal and external navigation links, making them more valuable for use in class and out. The interactive text employs a layout that departs from the traditional, all-text casebook format through use of callout text boxes, diagrams, and color/border segregated feature sections for hypotheticals, references to scholarly debates, or other useful information for law students. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.
Principles of Legal Research by
Principles of Legal Research provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of research methods in both online and printed resources.
Where the Law Is by
This newly updated law school textbook and course reference is designed specifically for advanced legal research classes and for upper-level students who want to achieve a better understanding of how to use the sources of legal information that they learned in their introductory courses. It provides in-depth guidance through the research process, advice on format selection, and details about the tools and techniques needed to function as skilled legal researchers. Up-to-date discussion of all media is fully integrated throughout. It focuses on the types of information the researcher needs, rather than on descriptions of particular information products.
Additional specialized legal research books are available, including books on state specific research and international law research.
Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing by
Buy anew versionof this Connected Casebook and receiveaccessto theonline e-book,practice questionsfrom your favorite study aids, and anoutline toolon CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes - portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing teaches students how to organize and incorporate a legal argument into strong and cogent writing for a variety of applications in legal practice. Because effective legal writing is predicated on sound legal reasoning, the authors treat both as integral parts of one process. Key Features: Comprehensive coverage of how to write an office memo, motion memo, and appellate brief--with additional chapters on oral argument, client letters, and professional email Exceptionally student-friendly treatment of how to organize a proof for a conclusion of law A thoughtful look at all aspects of legal reasoning, from rule-based analysis to the strategy of persuasion An accessible approach that focuses on the process of writing timely examples and exercises from legal practice A full complement of sample documents in the Appendices Additional materials and resources on the Companion Website. A timely revision that reflects current practice, the Eighth Edition presents: Expanded coverage of oral research reports and email correspondence New sample appellate briefs from a recent transgender rights case A fresh look at statutory construction and case analysis CasebookConnectfeatures: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions fromExamples & Explanations,Emanuel Law Outlines,Emanuel Law in a Flashflashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.
Legal Writing by
Examples & Explanations Series, Legal Writing uses a methodology based on the E&E pedagogy to teach students how to analyze and assess the effectiveness of their writing.
Legal Writing and Analysis by
The Murray and DeSanctis titles are designed for the current generation of law students whose familiarity and comfort with on-line and computer-based learning create a demand for teaching resources that take advantage of that familiarity and comfort level. Legal Writing and Analysis provides a process-based text covering all aspects of first year legal analysis and objective legal writing topics. It employs the TREAT paradigm and the doctrine of explanatory synthesis, designed with reference to rhetorical theory to maximize the effectiveness of audience-directed legal writing. Paired with the book is an electronic, computer-based version of the text that adds links to on-line databases and internet-based resources and supplements the text with pop-up definitions from Black's Law Dictionary. The electronic version of the text is searchable and highly portable, with internal and external navigation links, making them more valuable for use in class and out. The interactive text employs a layout that departs from the traditional, all-text casebook format through use of callout text boxes, diagrams, and color/border segregated feature sections for hypotheticals, references to scholarly debates, or other useful information for law students. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.
Legal Writing and Analysis by
A concise, straightforward guide to developing legal writing and analysis skills for beginning legal writers.
Legal Writing by Design by
The second edition of Legal Writing by Design remains unique in demonstrating how to transform thoughts into writing by explaining the link between thinking and writing. It doesn't just tell the reader to "argue by analogy" or to "apply the rule" it explains the design of the thinking involved in those processes and shows how to transform that design into writing. Through easily understandable hypotheticals, outlines, graphics, exercises, and writing samples, many garnered during the authors' combined forty-plus years of teaching legal writing and appellate advocacy to law students, Legal Writing by Design comprehensively demonstrates how to transform ideas into exceptional writing. It demystifies the writing process by explaining the design of (1) deductive and inductive reasoning, (2) analogical thinking, and (3) relevancy. Once that design is understood, writing becomes easy. Writing with liberal doses of humor, the authors provide clearly readable charts, examples, and templates throughout this second edition. All chapters include a chapter review, and many also provide writing prompts. In addition to chapters explaining the fundamentals of writing legal memos and briefs, Legal Writing by Design contains sections on (1) clear and effective writing; (2) the appellate process, including an easily understandable explanation of standards of review; (3) oral argument techniques and practice; (4) the writing and editing process; (5) case briefing; and (6) professionalism in the practice of law. Successfully used for over ten years by thousands of law school students, Legal Writing by Design is the perfect tool for anyone - attorneys, legal assistants, pro se litigants, undergraduate students, or the public - who seeks the ideal way to analyze issues, to write clearly, and to write persuasively.
Legal Writing by
From Richard K. Neumann, Jr ., and Sheila Simon — both widely known for their creative contributions To The Legal Writing field — comes this new, streamlined text For The basic legal writing course. it takes a student-friendly approach and provides concise but complete explanations of writing skills. And it is supplemented by a dynamic and unique website with many additional teaching tools. This concise, basic text for legal writing courses features : succinct explanations that don’t sacrifice coverage step-by-step guidance through the process of writing manageably short chapters focused on essential skills improved explanation of the CREAC formula (also known as the paradigm) innovative and vivid coverage of how to use storytelling in fact statements coverage of office memos, motion memos, and appellate briefs checklists and exercises throughout Classes using Richard K.Neumann Jr. And Sheila Simon’s Legal Writing will have access to a unique and dynamic website with a wide range of features, including: many of Sheila Simon’s most creative and famous teaching tools audio recordings of teachers and writers talking about the writing process printable checklists for rewriting additional exercises additional coverage on letter-writing, client interviewing, punctuation, and more Legal Writing represents a generous teaching package made up of a very clear and concise textbook, a dynamic website, and a detailed Teacher’s Manual.
