ULibraries Research Guides: Nutrition and Integrative Physiology: Find Articles

General Nutrition Websites and Databases

Listed below are three great resources with basic nutritional information for patients.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Trusted health information for you.
From the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, MEDLINEplus is for anyone with a medical question- both health professionals and consumers.
MedlinePlus en español (Spanish language version) This link opens in a new window
Trusted health information for you.
el portal de Internet de información de salud para el publico de la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina, la biblioteca médica más grande del mundo.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed. Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.

Top NUIP Literature Databases

Listed below are databases containing nutrition and NUIP information (articles, conference-proceedings, etc.) for students and professionals.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed. Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 5,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index contain full text with no embargo. 1937 to present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Coverage includes:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (2019 - present)
For published authors of monographs, please submit your request to be added to Web of Science.

Nutrition Journals

Below are a few key journals available online from the libraries:

NUIP Journals

Below are a few key journals where NUIP faculty publish, which are available online from the libraries:

Other Library Guides

Evaluating Sources: SIFT & PICK, RADAR, & ACT UP
by Lorelei Rutledge Last Updated Oct 28, 2024 2698 views this year
Evidence Based Practice
by Elizabeth Frakes Last Updated Aug 5, 2024 1364 views this year
Reference
by Ismaeil Hakimi Last Updated Oct 21, 2024 1501 views this year
Literature Reviews in the Health and Life Sciences
by Alfred Mowdood Last Updated Oct 15, 2024 135 views this year

Interlibrary Loan

Get library materials from other libraries for free!

Items not found at University of Utah libraries will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). In most instances books are available within 1 to 2 weeks and electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours.

Submit an interlibrary loan request

Learn how to submit an interlibrary loan request

Connect from off-campus

a laptop sitting open on a rock in the woods.

Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.

Click here:

Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar