EAE / Games
Resources geared toward the research, creative, and training needs of game developers.
What databases should I search for game studies?
Since games studies is very interdisciplinary, you may need to search multiple library databases depending upon your topic. Below are the "top picks." Contact your librarian for more recommendations.
-
GDC Vault This link opens in a new windowGDC Vault provides access to an archive of presentation videos, and audio synced with presenter slides, from worldwide Game Developers Conferences going back 20+ years. Browse by event and year, media type, and 20 broad-ranging categories of presentation themes. Or, search the presenters’ abstracts for specific keywords and phrases.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
-
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Journals This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text access to the journals, magazines, and proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Users can export citation pages in Endnote, BibTeX, and ACM Ref formats and access an author database which includes bibliometrics of many authors in the field.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Full-text results are provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. This database covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text access to journals, conference proceedings, and standards dating back to 1988 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institutions of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Many of these journals are included in the library catalog, but other IEEE publications are also accessible through this service.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis listing provides full-text access to all content that the library subscribes to through JSTOR. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily and contains over 70 million records. Scopus indexes over 23,400 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 publishers, including 5500 open access journals. Scopus also indexes 294 trade publications, over 120,000 conferences, and 210,000 books. Additionally, the database contains 44 million patent records from the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, and the UK Intellectual Property Office. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources.
-
Synthesis Collection This link opens in a new windowThis listing provides access to the Synthesis and Colloquium collections, which are interdisciplinary teaching and learning products covering new and emerging fields in the life sciences. The basic component of the collections is a 50 to 100-page "lecture" (a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic). Each lecture includes pictures, tables, and linked references to other peer reviewed articles and books. The collections and their lectures are organized b…
What are some game-related journals?
You must be logged in with an active uNID and password for off-campus access. Log in at the top of this page before choosing a link below.
-
Animation: An interdisciplinary journal"International peer-reviewed publishing platform for animation that unites contributions from a wide range of research agendas and creative practice."
-
Computer animation and virtual worldsComputer Animation & Virtual Worlds addresses the "global thematic of the Virtual Worlds... [which can be] subdivided into 6 areas: Computer animation, Embodied agents, Virtual Environments, Augmented Reality, Virtual Life, and Visualization."
-
Cyberpsychology, behavior and social networkingThis journal focuses on research understanding the social, behavioral, and psychological impact of today's social networking practices, including computer games and gaming, social media, and e-commerce.
-
Entertainment ComputingEntertainment Computing publishes articles on emerging technologies and tools in all aspects of digital entertainment, new media, entertainment computing, gaming, robotics, toys, and applications.
-
Game Developer MagazineMagazine exposing "the art and business of video games." Published 1994-2013.
-
Games and cultureInternational journal that publishes innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within interactive media.
-
Games for Health JournalThe Games for Health Journal is "the first peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the impact of game research, technologies, and applications on human health and well-being."
Please request articles from Interlibrary Loan. -
Game Studies: The International Journal of Computer Game ResearchA cross-disciplinary journal dedicated to games research. Primary focus is aesthetic, cultural and communicative aspects of computer games
-
JMIR serious games"A multidisciplinary journal on gaming and gamification including simulation and immersive virtual reality for health education/promotion, teaching and social change."
-
Journal of computer-mediated communicationJCMC "publishing social science research on communicating with computer-based media technologies."
-
Journal of gaming & virtual worldsThe study of electronic games across platforms and genres as well as ludic and serious online environments.
-
Simulation & GamingInternational forum for the exploration and development of simulation/gaming methodologies used in education, training, consultation, and research.
-
Transactions of the Digital Games Research AssociationMultidisciplinary journal dedicated to research on and practice in all aspects of games.
What are game-related organizations that host conferences/meetings?
EAE faculty serve and present at the meetings of the organizations below. These groups also publish conference proceedings.
-
Digital Games Research Association (DiGRA)Conference proceedings are available on their website as ToDIGRA or Transactions of DiGRA.
-
Foundations of Digital Games (FDG)Conference proceedings are available on their website and ACM Journals.
-
Game Developer's Conference (GDC)View conference materials in the GDC Vault database.
Connect from off-campus
Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.
Click here:
Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar
OR Download and install VPN software on your machine.
Interlibrary Loan
Get library materials from other libraries for free!
Items not found at University of Utah libraries will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). In most instances books are available within 1 to 2 weeks and electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours.
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
