African American Studies
Ethnic Studies Librarian
How to Research This Subject
My name is Lux Darkbloom, and I'm the librarian for TRANSFORM.
My job is to help you to learn and understand how to navigate the library AND the university systems, and I really do want to help. If you need a hand with a research project or question (research- or university-related), please don't hesitate to reach out. Just email lux.darkbloom@utah.edu. If email doesn't work best for you, let me know what does. I'm also available by phone, Zoom, Google Chat, Google Hangouts, and FaceTime, though it'll probably take us one email exchange to set things up.
Or if it's 3:00 am, you're really stressed out, and need immediate help, you can talk with an on-duty librarian using that little box below.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
When starting your research, you might want to begin by gathering background information on your topic. Tertiary sources, such as encyclopedias and reference databases, are good places to start.
Statistics can be a useful tool when researching populations or groups.
- United States Census Bureau This link opens in a new windowThis database is hosted by the United States Census Bureau and provides access to a variety of U.S. Census datasets, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, annual population estimates, and the Economic Census.
Ask a Librarian!
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
