ULibraries Research Guides: African American Studies: Articles

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background mat…
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic journals for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Electronic journals for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains archival material dating back to 1970.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the full text of over 400 scholarly peer reviewed journals by over 100 publishers in the humanities and social sciences.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
This database contains an index of the feminist press that covers nearly 3,000 sources in women's studies areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Journals

Suggested Search Terms

African Americans
African Americans & mass media
African Americans in art
African Americans in literature
African Americans in mass media
African Americans in motion pictures
African Americans in popular culture
African American music
African Diaspora
Black Americans
Racial identity of African Americans

You can narrow your search by adding your topic to your search terms. Don't forget to check the database subject terms/thesaurus, and ask a librarian if you want help.