Electrical & Computer Engineering: Find Articles

Electrical & Computer Engineering Databases


Inspec       [Help]
Excellent coverage of physics as well as Electrical Engineering and its applications.
Good coverage of computer control for engineering applications.

Scopus       [Help]
Excellent coverage of a broad range of science and engineering disciplines. Includes the database Compendex to the present. Published by Elsevier.

Compendex Archive       [Help]
Engineering applications of materials are best covered in this database.
In-depth coverage of nearly all engineering research prior to mid-2013. Continued by Scopus, [see above]

Computing Reviews
Computing Reviews provides reviews of computer science literature and links directly to the full text of scholarly articles.

Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals
Covers all the electronic journals from the Institute of Physics.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Journals
This database provides full-text access to the journals, magazines, and proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

IEL/IEEE Xplore       [Help]
Provides full-text access to the complete range of publications including journals, conference proceedings, and standards dating back to 1988 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

EECS Technical Reports [UC Berkeley]
This database provides a current date-stamped archive of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) research.

Medline       [Help]
Covers biomedical applications of materials.

MathSci Net       [Help]
The best index to the scholarly Mathematics literature.

Web of Science       [Help]
Cited Reference searching is this database's main feature.
Covers the most highly cited journals in each science & engineering discipline.

SciFinder       [Help]       Tutorials
This is the best database for most chemical investigations of a broad range of materials, providing insight to the chemistry, reaction dynamics and chemical transformations of substances. Materials Engineering & applications are examined. Also useful for finding Chemical Processes and Properties.
Requires free registration for those with University of Utah IDs.

Business Source Premier       [Help]
Many current chemical engineering topics have related articles in business journals and business news.
Use this database to gain a broader perspective.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text       [Help]
Read in-depth literature reviews and discover research methods from Dissertations and Theses related to your subject.

Google Scholar       [Help]
Google Scholar has a broader view of 'scholarly' than does the academic community, so use some caution. Otherwise it is a major index that will provide access to full text articles owned by the library, if you are on campus or logged-in from off-campus.
Use the operators below to refine your Google Scholar searches:
       intitle:      to perform title-keyword searches.     Examples:  intitle:solar    intitle:"solar radiation"
       author:    for author searches.        Examples:  author:Kunth    author:"D L Kunth"
           . .         for date-range searches.    Examples:  2005..2012    (no spaces between the periods)

NTIS       [Help]
National Technical Information Service
Reports US government sponsored research across a broad range of disciplines.

USPTO       [Help]
Search the US Patent and Trademark Office; it is the best source for finding non-public "cutting edge" science and technology.
Most of this content is never reported in journals.

More Quality Databases

Finding High Quality Peer-Reviewed Articles

Finding High Quality Peer-Reviewed Articles

While searching, Identify the Authors and Journals most related to your search topic

  Example of Search Tools in 'Inspec'.

When beginning research into a new area it is impossible to know who are the best authors on a subject or which journals have the highest quality content. Remember, both journals and journal articles may vary greatly in quality.

The Quality of articles is determined while performing your scholarly-database search. Below are three ways to identify what are likely to be high quality articles. Finding articles that satisfy two or three of these criteria further ensures Quality.

Quality Articles are determined by examining Three primary factors:

  • Authors publishing the most peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles on the topic
  • Articles that are Highly Cited by other research colleagues
  • Quality of the Scholarly Journal publishing the article (articles are peer-reviewed)

PEER REVIEW:
A process by which something proposed (intended for research or publication) is evaluated by a group of experts in the appropriate field.  - Merrian-Webster Dictionary

Authors publishing the most peer reviewed articles on the topic

  • Use scholarly Article Databases until you obtain a well, but not overly, focused set of search results.
  • Using the database's 'Search Tools' (example on the right), see which authors appear most often in scholarly articles. The top authors are easy to see. View some of these citations to verify they are often the primary author (first author listed).
  • Make lists of both the Authors and Journals publishing the most articles on your topic.
    Check the Quality of the Journals on your list [see below].
  • Review Articles review the research "progress to date" on a topic.
    They often provide on overview of the topic and identify key authors. Find these under "Document Type" or a similar heading. Sometimes using "review" as a search term works too.

Articles that are Highly Cited by other research colleagues

  Tools for following the 'Citation Web  '

  You found a Great, High Quality Article. See the Citing Articles' & 'Related Records'.

  • A scholarly article with relatively high numbers of 'citing articles' indicates other researchers have found value in the article cited.
  • See which articles, among your list of top authors, are most often cited. These are usually their best articles.
  • Many databases now provide the number of articles  citing the scholarly article that you are viewing, ... with links to each citing article.
  • Try the database 'Web of Science', which indexes the top 25-30% of journals in each discipline, based on high citation metrics. It specializes in 'Citation Searching' and finding 'Related Articles'.
  • Don't be confused, Articles less than 1-2 years old may be too recent for subsequent research to have cited those works. Lack of early citations is not a true indicator of quality, while an article having many 'early' citing articles definitely indicates considerable scholarly interest.
  • Related Articles ('Related Records') are articles in the database sharing the most citations in common (in their bibliographies). The assumption is that the higher the number of cited articles in common, the more closely related are the two research articles. This is another method of finding closely related research without relying on a Keyword or Subject search.

Quality of the Scholarly Journal publishing the article

  • Some Journals have strict editorial quality standards for the research they will publish. Other journals may use a somewhat lower standard of quality in order to speed-up the communication process. So publishers' vary on providing only the highest Quality articles. Articles not of the highest quality are not somehow bad, they often provide many very useful research results.
  • Use the database 'Journal Citation Reports' (JCR) to determine the hightest 'Impact' Journals in the discipline that researches your topic (see JCR examples, below). Compare your list of journals, publishing on your topic, with this list. Start reading articles from the highest ranked journals and from the most cited articles of the top authors.
  • It is not uncommon to find the best authors publishing in the highest quality journals.

JCR Example: Journals in Electrical Engineering,  Listed in the order of their Impact.

  JCR - FINDING a JOURNAL'S IMPACT :

View Journals by   'Subject Category',

then select your   Discipline,

then select '   Impact Factor'

Finding Journal Quality (Impact Factor) by Discipline

JCR Example: Journals may be re-sorted by other factors such as '5-year Impact Factor', 'Cited Half-Life', 'Article Influence Score', or 'Immediacy Index'.

Example of Journals in a Discipline Listed by 'Impact Factor'

Publication Timeline/ Review Articles

s

g

a

IEEE Spectrum News

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library