Electrical & Computer Engineering

Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 23 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Inspec's online coverage is from 1898 to the present, and records are updated weekly, with approximately 600,000 new records added to the database annually.

This database is an open-access archive for electronic preprints (which the database refers to as 'e-prints') of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, quantitative finance, and more. The arXiv is not peer reviewed, though the content is checked and organized into topics by a team of moderators. Listings of newly-submitted articles in areas of interest are available via the web interface, RSS feeds, and via email alerts. The database contains more than 700,000 e-prints, with more added regularly.

Some of the journals in this database are the ACM Computing Surveys, ACM Journal of Computer Documentation, ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems, Journal of Data and Information Quality, Journal of Experimental Algorithmics, Journal of the ACM, Journal on Computing and Cultural Heritage, and the Journal on Educational Resources in Computing.

The EECS Technical Memorandum Series provides a dated archive of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) research. It includes Ph.D. theses and master's reports as well as technical documents that complement traditional publication media such as journals. For example, technical reports may document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples. Technical reports listed here include the EECS Technical Report series (started in October 2005), the CS Technical Report series (from 1982 to 2005), and the ERL Technical report series (from 1984 to 2005, plus selected titles from before 1984). The full text is included for the EECS and CS series, but not for the ERL series.

This database provides full-text access to journals, conference proceedings, and standards. Covers journals, transactions, letters, and magazines published by the IEEE, with select content dating back to 1884. Covers content from other journal publishers dating back to 1930. Conference proceeding dating back to 1988; IEEE standards dating back from 1948.

Arcive Only. Effective July 31st, 2013, Compendex is limited to archive-only access and is not updated with new information (see coverage date above for details). Access to current information in Compendex is available through Scopus.

Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.

A comprehensive collection of business and technical publications spanning the computer industry.

This link provides access to the content of two databases from Engineering Village, Compendex and Inspec. Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. More than 650,000 new records are added to the database annually from over 190 disciplines and major specialties within engineering. Compendex is updated weekly. Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 11.2 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Approximately 600,000 new records are added to the database annually. Inspec's online coverage is from 1969 to the present, and records are updated weekly.

Gartner Research delivers reports and findings related to information technology. The database includes analyses, trends, practices, standards and case studies. Gartner Research is provided to faculty, staff, and students through a UIT subscription. University employees who work in IT may request access to additional resources and webinars, but they should request this additional access from Gartner, please see the UIT Organization Memberships web page for more information.

This database covers metals and alloys, including details on their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. The collection contains almost 1.5 million references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index. Major areas of coverage include steel, strength, refining, casting, coatings, heat treatment, metal matrix composites, nonferrous metals, corrosion, extracting, smelting, blast furnaces, machining, welding, testing, analysis, environmental issues, and safety issues. The database is updated once a month, with approximately 45,000 new records added per year. There are nearly 8 million records in the collection in total, drawn from over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.

Dissertations & Theses: Global provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertation publishing partnerships with over 700 academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.