Mechanical Engineering: Find Articles

Find Articles

Database Selection Note: The best overall index for Mechanical Engineering literature is Scopus which covers all the current information that is available in Compendex from 1969 to present. This index is found at the "Engineering Village 2", the names are frequently used interchangeably. "Axiom" (also called "INSPEC) is the best source for computer, electronics and control literature. "NTIS" is the source for reports on government funded research (of which there is a great deal in many diverse areas).

Remote Access to Library Databases: Nearly every database offered by the library come with license restrictions from the database producer.  If you are a student, faculty or employee of the Univesity of Utah, you may search these databases from home or other off-campus locations.  If you need help with this access procedure see the Off Campus Access link on the Marriott Library home page at http://www.lib.utah.edu.

Main Library Databases:

Compendex / Engineering Village 2-(1970 - Present)  This resource is available to University of Utah users only
The primary scholarly index for Mechanical Engineering, indexing over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Search the scholarly Compendex index or search engineering web pages on the internet.
Topics Covered: chemical and process engineering (15%), computers and data processing (12%), applied physics (11%), and electronics and communication (12%) civil engineering (6%) and mechanical engineering (6%).

 

INSPEC- (1898 - Present)This resource is available to University of Utah users only WARNING! - When the Database Opens you are searching both Inspec (1898- present) and EI Backfile, also called Compendex Archive, from 1884-1969.
This is the primary index for Physics, Computer Science & Control Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering. This is an excellent resource for articles on computer and control technology for mechanical engineering applications.
Topics Covered: Computing and control, physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and information
Science.

MathSciNet- (1940 - Present) This resource is available to University of Utah users only
The best index to the scholarly Mathematics literature. Provides access to over 60 years of "Mathematical Reviews" and "Current Mathematical Publications", two premier indexes.

NTIS- (1964 - Present) This resource is available to University of Utah users only
The National Technical Information Service covers information on U.S. government sponsored research and development projects, and reports, software, and data from 300 government agencies, ncluding NASA, DOD, DOE, EPA, DOT and the Department of Commerce. Each biweekly update is cumulative.

Scopus

Scopus is large multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. The database indexes over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, results from 431 million scientific web pages, 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices, and "Articles-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals. It also offers links to full-text articles and other library resources.

Free Online Databases. . .(available to those without library 'remote-access' rights) :

Collected Algorithms of the ACM - http://www.acm.org/calgo/
Software associated with papers published in the "Transactions on Mathematical Software", as well as other ACM journals are incorporated in CALGO. This software is refereed for originality, accuracy, robustness, completeness, portability, and lasting value. Readers may subscribe to CALGO. Subscribers receive quarterly notification of the appearance of new algorithms, as well as copies of research papers describing them in loose-leaf binder form. Back issues may also be ordered.

MatWeb - http://www.matweb.com/
MatWeb's database of material properties includes thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, and polyolefins; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus a growing list of semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

NIST Web Search Engine-http://www.boulder.nist.gov/ - (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
Lots of property data is published by the US government and is available on the web. Use this site to search all NIST websites. Use the phrase "property data" and then the type of data your looking for. Results can be very specific, but once you've identified a site useful to you . . .

NIST Manufacturing Engineering Laboratory - http://www.nist.gov/search.htm
National Institute of Standards and Technology. Developing many of the underpinning components of automated intelligent-processing systems that soon will be the core of all world-class manufacturing operations. These include intelligent machines; advanced sensors for real-time in-process measurements; software for precision control of machine tools; and information technology for integrating all elements of a product's life cycle.

USPTO Patent Databases - http://www.uspto.gov/
This is the starting point for the US Patent and Trademark Office's free patent databases, including both the US Patent Bibliographic Database (1/1/76-present) )and the AIDS Patent database. Topical searches must use the USPTO's list of subject headings found on their web site.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library