Mechanical Engineering
This guide features some of the Marriott Library's resources and services for mechanical engineers.
ME EN Textbooks
-
Automating Manufacturing Systems with PLCs
by
An in depth examination of manufacturing control systems using structured design methods. Topics include ladder logic and other IEC 61131 standards, wiring, communication, analog IO, structured programming, and communications.Allen Bradley PLCs are used extensively through the book, but the formal design methods are applicable to most other PLC brands.A full version of the book and other materials are available on-line at http://engineeronadisk.com
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve TJ223.P76 J33 2010ISBN: 9780557344253Publication Date: 2009 -
Engineering Mechanics: Statics
by
A Proven Approach to Conceptual Understanding and Problem-solving Skills Engineering Mechanics: Statics excels in providing a clear and thorough presentation of the theory and application of engineering mechanics. The text features a large variety of problems from a broad range of engineering disciplines, stressing practical, realistic situations encountered in professional practice, and having varying levels of difficulty.
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve TA351 .H5 2016 (previous versions available)ISBN: 9780133918922 -
FE Electrical and Computer Practice Problems
by
Call Number: TK169 .L544 2017 -
A First Course in the Finite Element Method
by
A FIRST COURSE IN THE FINITE ELEMENT METHOD provides a simple, basic approach to the course material that can be understood by both undergraduate and graduate students without the usual prerequisites (i.e. structural analysis). The book is written primarily as a basic learning tool for the undergraduate student in civil and mechanical engineering whose main interest is in stress analysis and heat transfer. The text is geared toward those who want to apply the finite element method as a tool to solve practical physical problems.
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve TA347.F5 L64 2012 (previous editions avialalbe) -
Modeling and Analysis of Dynamic Systems
by
The third edition of Modeling and Anaysis of Dynamic Systems continues to present students with the methodology applicable to the modeling and analysis of a variety of dynamic systems, regardless of their physical origin. It includes detailed modeling of mechanical, electrical, electro-mechanical, thermal, and fluid systems. Models are developed in the form of state-variable equations, input-output differential equations, transfer functions, and block diagrams. The Laplace transform is used for analytical solutions. Computer solutions are based on MATLAB and Simulink. Examples include both linear and nonlinear systems. An introduction is given to the modeling and design tools for feedback control systems. The text offers considerable flexibility in the selection of material for a specific course. Students majoring in many different engineering disciplines have used the text. Such courses are frequently followed by control-system design courses in the various disciplines.
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve QA402 .C53 2002ISBN: 9780471394426Publication Date: 2002 -
Writing in Engineering
by
Call Number: T11 .I75 2015At once sophisticated and practical, Writing in Engineering: A Brief Guide leads students through how to compose design reports, lab reports, and other key engineering genres while attending to the principles of argument, style, and visual design. -
Designing for People: An Introduction to Human Factors Engineering
by
Whether it is the car you drive or the app on your smartphone, technology has an increasingly powerful influence on you. When designed with people in mind, this influence can improve lives and productivity. This book provides a broad introduction on how to attend to the needs, capabilities, and preferences of people in the design process. We combine methods of design thinking and systems thinking to understand people's needs and evaluate whether those needs are met. This book also provides a detailed description of the capabilities and limits of people-both mental and physical-and how these can guide the design of everything from typography to teams and from data visualization to habits. The book includes: * Over 70 design principles for displays, controls, human-computer interaction, automation, and workspace layout * Integrative discussion of the research and theory underlying these guidelines, supported by over 1,000 references * Examples of successful and unsuccessful designs and exercises that link principles and theory to applications in consumer products, the workplace, and high risk-systems We hope this book will give a useful introduction to students entering the field and will also serve as a reference for researchers, engineers, and designers.
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve T59.7 .L435 2017ISBN: 9781539808008Publication Date: 2017 -
Legal Aspects of Engineering, Design, and Innovation
by
This 11th Edition of Legal Aspects of Engineering, Design and Innovation incorporates new legal issues for the benefit of students, professors and those needing a broad overview of the engineering and design legal landscape. Many topics, such as environmental law, intellectual property and products liability have been expanded upon. In addition, more emphasis has been placed on encouraging discussion in the classroom in order to pull into the conversation problems that don't clearly fall into black letter law, but rather reflect professional aspirations and address ethics challenges that engineers and design professionals face on a daily basis. New ethics cases have been added and are correlated with the main chapters. This edition follows a similar structure as the 10th Edition, where the main topic is discussed at the beginning of each chapter with cases, if applicable, appearing at the end with an updated "For Discussion" section and supplemental readings. By expanding the "For Discussion" section, it is hoped that students as well as others, will not only find answers to common legal problems in the book, but will consider how to improve the legal landscape in which they work. Thank you for choosing Legal Aspects of Engineering, Design and Innovation.
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve KF2928 2023ISBN: 9781792497988Publication Date: 2022 -
Physics for scientists and engineers: A strategic approach with modern physics
by
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve QC23.2 .K65 2023ISBN: 9781292438221Publication Date: 2023 -
Thermodynamics: An Engineering Approach
by
"Thermodynamics is an exciting and fascinating subject that deals with energy, and thermodynamics has long been an essential part of engineering curricula all over the world. It has a broad application area ranging from microscopic organisms to common household appliances, transportation vehicles, power generation systems, and even philosophy. This introductory book contains sufficient material for two sequential courses in thermodynamics. Students are assumed to have an adequate background in calculus and physics. To cover the basic principles of thermodynamics. To present a wealth of real-world engineering examples to give students a feel for how thermodynamics is applied in engineering practice. To develop an intuitive understanding of thermodynamics by emphasizing the physics and physical arguments that underpin the theory"--
Call Number: Level 3: Open Reserve TJ265 .C43 2024ISBN: 1265903697Publication Date: 2024 -
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition
by
The 100th Anniversary Edition of the Cornerstone Text of Mechanical Engineering--Fully Revised to Focus on the Core Subjects Critical to the Discipline This 100th Anniversary Edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's Mechanical Engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get, accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing. Coverage includes: * Mechanics of solids and fluids * Heat * Strength of materials * Materials of engineering * Fuels and furnaces * Machine elements * Power generation * Transportation * Fans, pumps, and compressors * Instruments and controls * Refrigeration, cryogenics, and optics * Applied mechanics * Engineering ethics
Call Number: AccessEngineeringISBN: 9781259588501Publication Date: 2018
Browse for other books
Ebook Collections
-
De Gruyter Ebooks and JournalsCovers all disciplines. Includes EBA (Evidence Based Acquisition) books from Princeton UP, University of Chicago Press, UP, University of California Press, and books publiched by DeGrutyer Brill.
-
IET Ebooks This link opens in a new windowIET books (1979-2025) reflect the role of engineering in solving societal challenges, proposing interdisciplinary solutions to complex problems, and exploring the scientific principles that underpin current and future technologies. IET books are written by and for the STEM research community, providing expertly curated and authoritative reviews of research trends and developments, and deep dives into engineering and technology topics.
-
Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals & Ebooks This link opens in a new windowThis listing provides access to all of the journal and ebook content the Marriott Library subscribes to through the Institute of Physics (IOP). Many details such as subject coverage, coverage dates, and update frequency vary by title, but are provided where applicable. Ebook access to over 1,000 IOP ebook titles.
-
Wiley Evidence Based AcquisitionThis EBA program provides access to over 22,500 ebooks in 100+ subjects. New ebooks are added periodically. All titles are DRM free with unlimited user access.
Suggest a Purchase
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.
Need help? Contact us
Librarian Contact Info
Alfred Mowdood
he/him/his
Contact:
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Pronouns: he/him/his
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Pronouns: he/him/his
Subjects: Accounting, Athletics, Biomedical Ethics, Business, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Entrepreneurship & Strategy, Grants, Health Communication, Health Promotion and Education, Industry, Information Systems, Intellectual Property, Kinesiology, LEAP, Management, Marketing, MBA Resources, Operations & Information Systems, Parks Recreation & Tourism, Parks, Recreation, and Tourism, Patents and Trademarks, Science, Test Preparation, Theses and Dissertations
Eboo
