FCS 6901 Thesis Development Seminar: Find Articles

Connect from Off Campus

Use the button located at the top right of this page and on the library home page.  You can also click on the link below for information about off-campus access using the Web VPN or VPN software.


Click on the blue "i" button for examples.

Articles Now Available in Usearch, the Library Catalog

The new library catalog, Usearch, now includes articles: scholarly, peer reviewed and popular.  Most of these articles will be full text directly from Usearch. When you use Usearch, look to the left side of the screen and you will see many ways to limit your search. Some of the most useful limits might be Peer-reviewed Journals listed in the Show Only category at the top and the various choices under Subject and Creation Date.  Click on the link below for a sample search.

If you have questions about Usearch, contact the FCS librarian or use the Email Help tab above for Marriott Library email reference request form.

It is important to remember that for more comprehensive article search results (and advanced searching capability), you should use the article databases as advised in other boxes on this page.

Getting Started

Use the databases listed in the box below to identify articles, conference papers, and similar items from popular and scholarly sources.  To access all Marriott Library databases see Article Databases and More.

  • You will get a citation (author, title, source, date), usually an abstract (a short summary),  and often the full text of the article.
  • Marriott won't own all items listed. If not, you may request a copy through Interlibrary Loan
  • Access varies depending on your location and status-- because of licensing agreements with database providers, only UU students, faculty, and staff have access to most databases from off campus.
  • Personalized help is available at the Knowledge Commons desk on level 2 of the Marriott Library or from the Library's Get Help.

Best Bet Databases for FCS

Other Helpful Databases

Subject Guide

Save and Organize Your References

EndNote Web and EndNote

Everyone at the University of Utah is eligible for a free account on EndNote Web.  You will have to sign up on a campus computer, but after that you will be able to access EndNote Web from any computer connected to the Internet.

EndNote has many more features and may be more useful for graduate students.  It is available through the University's software licensing office for a very resonable price.

Help with Exporting Citations into EndNote Web

Click on the link below for a PDF document with information on exporting citations from various heavily used database providers such as Ebsco into EndNote Web. Exporting from databases we purchase from other providers should work similarly to one of these.  If you have problems contact Linda Keiter or call the Library's Knowledge Commons service desk at 801-581-6273.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library