Advanced Research in the Sciences: Scholarly Research

Use these resources to identify journal articles and other scholarly sources.

You will get a citation (author, title, source, date) and often an abstract--a short summary. Most of these databases either provide or link to the full text. Excellent starting points are:

• Scopus		Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.  You will find Scopus tutorials at the URL http://help.scopus.com/flare/Content/tutorials/sc_menu.html.
  Engineering Village		Access to Compendex, Inspec, NTIS, CRCENGnetBASE, USPTO, Esp@cenet, and Scirus. You will find training information and tutorials on Engineering Village at the URL http://www.ei.org/Support_Training.
  SciFinder Scholar		SciFinder Scholar is your link to the wealth of substance information and chemical literature in CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. That includes over 16 million journal articles, patents and other documents and more than 24 million substance records in the CAS Chemical Registry database.  You will find tutorials and information about SciFinder Scholar at the URL http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/index.html.
  BIOSIS Previews		Large  index to primary research literature in the life sciences including medical research, traditional biological research (botany, zoology, physiology, genetics and ecology), interdisciplinary research (biochemistry, biomedicine, and biotechnology) and related areas (instrumentation and methods).  You may find a searching helpguide at the URL http://wokinfo.com/media/pdf/qrc/bpqrc.pdf
  PubMed		19 million citations covering medicine, nursing, allied health, exercise science, sports medicine, physical therapy, physiology, and kinesiology. You will find tutorials and training information for PubMed at the URL http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html.
  Academic Search Premier		Full-text of 4600 scholarly journals. You will find tutorials for Academic Search Premier at the URL http://support.epnet.com/training/tutorials.php.
  Cochrane Library		Evidence-based medicine (EBM) resources including a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses.  You will find information and tutorials on the Chocrane Library at the URL http://www.thecochranelibrary.com/view/0/HowtoUse.html.
  Google Scholar		Another way to search for scholarly literature.
  Online Journals		Journals subscribed by the libraries at the University of Utah
  	Resources available by uNID on campus. Available off campus to current University of Utah students, staff, and faculty.

• Search either the University Libraries Catalog  or the Online Journals by journal title to see which library carries the journal. If not available, you may request a copy through Interlibrary Loans ().
• Access varies depending on your location and status.
• Personalized help is available at the Library Service Desks.

The following resources are only available to U of U students, faculty, and staff.