Chemistry: Find Articles

Find Articles

SciFinder Scholar 
SciFinder Scholar is your link to the wealth of substance information and chemical literature in CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. That includes over 16 million journal articles, patents and other documents and more than 24 million substance records in the CAS Chemical Registry database

You must register to access this database. To register, you must use your University of Utah email and be at a University computer.

Databases for locating general chemistry literature:

Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,040 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

Science Direct
Science DIrect, developed by Elsevier Science, indexes web sites that contain scientific content, ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central and Patents from the USPTO. While this index provides information about citations, some sources may not be subscribed to by the U of U and therefore may require user and password information for detail or full text.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scholars need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. Updated daily, Scopus offers. Over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, 36 million records, Results from 431 million scientific web pages, 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices, "Articles-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals, Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources.

Web of Science
This listing provides access to the Web of Knowledge search interface for the Web of Science Core Collection, and the Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes. The Web of Science Core Collection provides researchers access to the world's most authoritative multidisciplinary content, and its indexes cover more than 12,000 of the world's highest impact journals and 150,000 conference proceedings. The Science Citation Index fully indexes over 8,500 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journal across 150 disciplines from 1900 to the present. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index indexes over 1,700 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals from 1975 to the present, and the Social Sciences Citation Index covers over 3,000 journals across 55 social science disciplines from 1900 to the present. To access the full benefits of Web of Science when accessing the database from off-campus (JCR, Incites, etc.), you may need to register for a Web of Science account and use the Web of Science login.

More in-depth databases include:

ACS Journals
Searchable full text of 34 journals of the American Chemical Society Publications.


Royal Society of Chemistry E-Journals
Searchable full text of over 20 journals of the Royal Society of Chemistry Publications.

About me -

Shane Wallace's picture
Shane Wallace
J.W. Marriott Library
Office Hours:
Tuesdays and Wednesdays, 12-1
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library