- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowNOTE: You must register for a user account to use this database - note that for registration you must use your University of Utah email.
This database is licensed for use only by U of U faculty, students and staff conducting scholarly research. It is not to be used for commercial research. SciFinder provides access to the substance information and chemical literature in CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Currently the database includes over 16 million journal articles, patents and other documents and more than 24 million substance records in the CAS Chemical Registry database. Please contact CAS at 1-800-753-4227 or Shane Wallace email firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions regarding registration or access.
- Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl This link opens in a new windowThe Science of Synthesis Database is structure, reaction, text, and field searchable and provides access to the full Science of Synthesis series, including the Houben-Weyl Archive, published from 1909 to-date. Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl is the largest collection of evaluated and vetted methods of organic, organometallic, and medicinal synthesis in the world.
Databases for locating general chemistry literature:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect provides access to a collection of articles from over 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 book titles. Various topics in a range of scientific fields are covered by the database.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily and contains over 70 million records. Scopus indexes over 23,400 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 publishers, including 5500 open access journals. Scopus also indexes 294 trade publications, over 120,000 conferences, and 210,000 books. Additionally, the database contains 44 million patent records from the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, and the UK Intellectual Property Office. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Coverage is 1900 - present.
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015 - present)
More in-depth databases include:
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new windowThe ACS Journal Archives provide searchable full-text access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 450,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879. ACS publishes more than 35 peer-reviewed journals with articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, molecular biology, biotechnology, applied microbiology, chemical engineering, c…
- Royal Society of Chemistry eJournals This link opens in a new windowThis listing provides access to all of the full-text journals the library subscribes to through the Royal Society of Chemistry. A number of subjects are covered by the collection, including biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. New content is added as it becomes available.
About me -
J.W. Marriott Library
Need help? Contact us
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides