Unfiltered. Another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence on drug, disease and medical device data within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. 1974 – present.
The impetus behind Bandolier was to find information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did not: a bandolier with bullets. Information comes from systematic reviews, meta-analyses, randomised trials, and from high quality observational studies.
What is Evidence Based Medicine?
EBM is about tools, not about rules. Good evidence is likely to come from good systematic reviews of good clinical trials. For many reasons too much of the medical literature can be misleading, or is just plain wrong. We must be able to distinguish good evidence from bad, and to have accurate, reliable knowledge readily available and readily accessible for all. The contrast between the individual and the population as a whole - unique biology, choice and circumstance, often dictates what happens, and evidence is but one part of a complex question.
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including:
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database
CCAs provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care.
Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from the relevant Cochrane review.
For a clinical reference resource to truly be called evidence-based, conclusions must be based on the best available evidence. Conclusions can be based on the best available evidence only if the evidence is consistently and systematically identified, evaluated and selected.
The DynaMed editorial process applies the following strict protocols:
Systematically identifying the evidence
Systematically selecting the best available evidence from that identified
Systematically evaluating the selected evidence (critical appraisal)
Objectively reporting the relevant findings and quality of the evidence
Synthesizing multiple evidence reports
Deriving overall conclusions and recommendations from the evidence synthesis
Changing the conclusions when new evidence alters the best available evidence
Every article considered for inclusion in DynaMed is processed using this system, and the system ensures the integrity of the conclusions.
The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on clinical, behavioral, and organization and financing topics to produce evidence reports, technical reviews (covering nonclinical methodological topics), and technology assessments.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.
As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
ACCESSSS is designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.
SUMSearch simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from multiple sources. Searches for studies are revised up to 6 times as needed, while guidelines and systematic reviews may be revised once each. Results from PubMed, Dare, and NGC are merged and sorted. As SUMSearch executes live searches of external websites in response to your query, SUMSearch is always up-to-date.
We are available via chat, phone, email, or in person!