- University of Utah
- ULibraries Research Guides
- * Marriott Library Research Guides
- CLEAR Program
- Style Guides and Citation Info
CLEAR Program
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
Theses and Dissertations Handbook
A Handbook for Theses and Dissertations contains information on The Graduate School’s policies and procedures for preparing a thesis or dissertation, having it reviewed by the Thesis Editor, and uploading it as a PDF for electronic publication, which is the final requirement for graduation. The Handbook includes an explanation of the University of Utah format, examples of pages and forms, and a discussion of copyright issues.
Librarian Contact Info
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Pronouns: he/him/his
What is a Citation and Citation Style?
A citation is a way of giving credit to individuals for their creative and intellectual works that you utilized to support your research. It can also be used to locate particular sources and combat plagiarism. Typically, a citation can include the author's name, date, location of the publishing company, journal title, or DOI (Digital Object Identifier).
Citations let your professor, or anyone else who reads your work, find the items used in your research. The key to a successful citation is providing all the information needed for your reader to find the book, article, or other item you are citing. Citing also builds your credibility and shows that your ideas are shared by other experts in the field. Lastly, it avoids plagiarism by giving credit to the original author.
Style Guides
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.3 P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2020
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226816371Publication Date: 2013
The Associated Press Stylebook 2022-2024 by
Master the style guidelines of news writing, editing, and common usage with this indispensable guide perfect for students and professional writers everywhere. The style of The Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With the AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which their writers and editors are famous. The AP Stylebook will help you master the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, word and numeral usage, and when to use "more than" instead of "over." To make navigating these specialty chapters even easier, the Stylebook includes a comprehensive index. Fully revised and updated to keep pace with world events, common usage, and AP procedures, the AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors and students cannot afford to be without. This edition contains more than 300 new and revised entries, including: - A new chapter on inclusive storytelling: its importance and how to achieve it. - Detailed guidance on writing about people with disabilities and disabled people. - Many updates on immigration, the coronavirus, gender and race-related coverage, including the capitalization of Black and expanded use of singular they. - A revised chapter on religion, with guidance on when Catholic rather than Roman Catholic should be used on first reference. - A thoroughly updated chapter on using social media for reporting.
Call Number: PN4783 .A83 2022ISBN: 9781541601659Publication Date: 2022
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017
What is a Style Guide?
A style guide is a handbook or webpage that describes the rules for citing the resources you used in your academic paper.
This Research Guide will help you find the appropriate style guide to cite your sources when writing an academic paper. There are hundreds of different styles which format your citations differently. Use the navigation on the left to find links to each style guide.
University Writing Center
The University Writing Center is here to help you become a more confident writer by providing individual consultations with peer tutors. We work on papers from all disciplines - not just writing classes. Best of all, the Writing Center is a FREE service to students and faculty of the University of Utah.
The University Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of the Marriott Library in room 2701.
Make an appointment
Writing Guides
If you are interested in improving your writing, the library has several excellent writing guides. To find writing guides in the catalog, you can either search by title or try some of the following search options:
English Language Grammar: English language -- Grammar -- Problems, exercises, etc
Academic Writing: Academic Writing
Composition and Creative Writing: LANGUAGE ARTS & DISCIPLINES / Composition & Creative Writing
Rhetoric: English language--Rhetoric--Handbooks, manuals, etc.or English language--Rhetoric
Style: English language--style
Technical Writing: Technical writing--Handbooks, manuals, etc
Look in PNs, at reserve section, bird by bird, on writing, elements of style, they say i say, on writing well, a rulebook for arguments. Add these five to writing resources, add photo of them, contact writing 2010 and writing center and ask what books they're using and list them on guide
