Skip to main content
alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

Moderate Risk
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

How to use JSTOR Database: Home

Scopus Database

JSTOR Database provides full-text access to all content that the library subscribes to through JSTOR, including the Arts & Sciences 1-13 Collections and the Life Sciences Collection. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date. So, you will not find them on the day published.
For further information, you can go to JSTOR org and read Research Guides for JSTOR.
 
To use JSTOR,
1. Go to the library homepage at lib.utah.edu. If you are off campus, click on "Ask the Library". In the new page, click on "Off Campus Access" under the "Help Quick Links". Sign in with your uNID and password


2. Click on Databases tab under the Search box.

 

3. Click on the letter J. In the new page, go down and click on JSTOR to open it.

 

 

4. In JSTOR main page, you can do Basic search, Advanced search, Browse by Subject, Title or Publisher.

 

 

5. In JSTOR you can search any key words in the basic search to find journals, primary sources and books.

 

6. You can improve your search and get better results by using the following tools:

- The quotation marks, like, "Chinese Spring Green Tea"

- Boolean operators, like, Mandela AND human rights NOT religion

- Tilde symbol (~) and wildcards like question mark or asterisk.

 

7. You will have better results if you use Advanced Search.

 

8. In Advanced search, you can limit your search results by using the dropdown list and restricting to the title, author, abstract or caption text. Please note that JSTOR has abstracts for %10 of articles only.

 

9. Also you can click on the dropdown list and browse JSTOR by Subject, Title or Publisher.

 

10. Whenever you want to go to JSTOR main page, just click on JSTOR icone. It will take you to JSTOR main page.

Need help? Contact us

chat loading...
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library