Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

Moderate Risk
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

How to use PubMed?: Home

PubMed database

PubMed® is a free database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

For more information, please check out User Guide on the top right corner of Pubmed main page, and this video

To use PubMed:

1. Go to the library homepage at lib.utah.edu and click on the Databases under the Search box.

undefined

 

2. Click on the letter P.

undefined

 

3. Scroll down and click on PubMed.

undefined

4. In the new page, you can: 1) Click on Log in to enter your information if you already have an account with PubMed or Sign up if you are new. 2) Do the basic search by typing in the search box. 3) Do the advanced search by clicking on the Advanced button under the search box.

undefined

 

5.  If you want to do a basic search, type your keyword in the search box and click the Search button. 

undefined

 

 

6. The new page will appear with many useful options and information. A list of search will appear with a total number on the top.Click on a desired title to see more specific information about that article. Check out User Guide on the top right side to read an updated guide of PubMed.

undefined

 

7.  You can organize the results by displaying the format through Summary or Abstract, and sorting them by Best match, Most recent or Publication date. Also, you can choose the number of search results per page to 10 to 200.

undefined

 

 

8. The database search engine will retrieve a list of results. To limit the number of search results: 

  • Replace general key words with more specific ones.
  • Include additional terms in your query.
  • Use the sidebar filters to restrict results by type, publication date, full text availability, article type, and more.

You have options for Abstract, Free full text and Full text. 

undefined

 

9. Click on Additional filters button below the limiters. In a new page, you will see a table with different filter options. .

undefined

 

 

10. By clicking on Advanced button under the search box, you can search more specific with more detailed results. Also you can create alert or RSS.

undefined

 

11. You can click on Save button located above the search results to download the citations to a text file. From Selection drop down list, select one of those three options and then from Format drop down list, select Summary (text), Pubmed, Abstract (text) or... Fanally, click on Create file button and do the further process to safe the search results.

undefined

 

12. You can email the citations by marking the selected items among the search results. Click on Email button above the search results. Type your email address and enter any text you want. Select the citation and format from relevant drop down lists. Click on Send email.

undefined

13. You can send the search results temporarily to the Clipboard or permanently to the Collections or a Citation manager. Click on Send to button and do further process.

undefined

undefined

14. If you click on a designated item, you will have a lot of options on the right side of the page.

undefined

15. Among the limiters on the left side of the page, you can tick Abstract, Full text or Free full text. 

undefined

 

16. For full text articles, tick Full text option and click on the title you want. In the next page, click on Full Text icons on the top right side of the page. It will take you to a full text like pdf. Also, for a full text article you can click on the Find It button. It will take you to Marriott Library Website. 

undefined

17. On the library page, click on Fulltext available link. It will take you down to one or more links to the full texts. Do the further process to reach to a full text.

undefined

undefined

 

18. If you couldn't find your article at the Marriott Library, you can request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). On the library page, go down to click on Request an Article.

undefined

 

19. On the new page, select the library.

undefined

 

20. You will get a form to request for the inter library loan. In most cases books will be available within 1 to 2 weeks and electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours.To know more about how to request it, check out this page.

undefined

Need help? Contact us

chat loading...
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library