The Marriott Library subscribes to and purchased many streaming databases. This guide to help faculty, staff and students identify and locate streaming packages and films available for use in an academic environment.
American History in Video provides access to a video collection related to the study of American history, with over 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on file. The collection contains commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries. The database organizes the video by historical era as well as relevance to historical people and events, providing the videos with historical context. New content is added periodically.
This database provides access to a large collection of educational films which can be streamed online. Some of the publishers whose films appear in this database are ABC News, American Experience, TED, BBC Films, Frontline, NOVA, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, The Open University, and California Newsreel, among others. Films may be viewed individually or used by faculty as instructional material for courses.
See HELP link on this entry for specific system requirements. Starting August 26, 2022 the subscription includes The Top 1000 is a collection. Swank's most licensed and popular titles across all schools the company work with.
Swank Digital Campus provides a customizable academic streaming library of feature films, documentaries, and foreign films, and television episodes from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more. Of their feature film library, over 1000 titles are available for immediate educational viewing.
For systems requirements, please see Swank's current HELP page at https://swankmp.clickhelp.co/articles/#!swank-digital-campus-user-help/learn-more-and-faq
Europeana is a collection of the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. More than 15 million items are found in Europeana's database, including paintings, drawings, maps, photos, pictures of museum objects, books, newspapers, letters, diaries, archival papers, music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts, and videos such as films, newsreels and TV broadcasts. Some items and topics are famous, like Isaac Newton's book…
Europeana is a collection of the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. More than 15 million items are found in Europeana's database, including paintings, drawings, maps, photos, pictures of museum objects, books, newspapers, letters, diaries, archival papers, music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts, and videos such as films, newsreels and TV broadcasts. Some items and topics are famous, like Isaac Newton's book about the Laws of Motion, the drawings of Leonardo da Vinci, or objects related to the Berlin Wall. Others are lesser-known works from obscure or unpopular creators. Around 1500 institutions have contributed to Europeana, including the British Library in London, the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam and the Louvre in Paris as well as a number of smaller organisations across Europe.
This database provides access to a collection of over 1,000,000 music tracks drawn from over 75,000 CD recordings, with more than 1,000 new CDs added monthly. Records also include liner notes, opera synopses, libretti, and composer and artist biographies. Genres in the collection include classical music, contemporary jazz, world music, pop, folk, contemporary instrumental, rock, and more.
This database provides access to a collection of over 1,000,000 music tracks drawn from over 75,000 CD recordings, with more than 1,000 new CDs added monthly. Records also include liner notes, opera synopses, libretti, and composer and artist biographies. Genres in the collection include classical music, contemporary jazz, world music, pop, folk, contemporary instrumental, rock, and more.
The Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 1,300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts, among others, and is continuously updated.
The Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 1,300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts, among others, and is continuously updated.
A diverse selection of movies and documentaries available to stream from around the world. Foreign language films in Bosnian, Russian, German, Spanish, French and Italian to name a few.
FILM PLATFORM connects academic audiences with leading documentary films from across the world. It is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase meaningful documentaries of social, political and cultural importance. The publisher works with an Academic Advisory Board to ensure that each of our films upholds the highest educational standards, and speaks directly to today’s academic topics and concerns. The catalog is continually expanding to include the newest award-winning documentaries and current film festival favorites. Over 90% of the catalog is exclusively available via Film Platform.
Medici.tv is an online catalog made up of over 1,200 classical music programs from a variety of artists and composers. The database also partners with orchestras and concert halls around the world in order to broadcast live musical events.
